Summer of 2013

So I haven’t blogged very well in the past few months. Summer has been here and it seems like there isn’t much time for anything other than being outside soaking up the sun and then hanging out with friends at night. Not that any of that is bad, just leaves little time to sit down and think about things on a regular basis. So on the few days/nights when there’s absolutely nothing to do, that’s when all those thoughts randomly collide and give me a headache. More things have happened that are life-changing that I haven’t felt like announcing to just anyone but it’s still going ok. I’m keeping afloat for now anyways.

One thing I don’t understand is why people have to copy my actions. It is NOT the sincerest form of flattery and it gets to be very annoying. I’m a writer (as you know) and I’ve known what I am my entire life. When I talk to a friend about writing(a friend that has never had any intention of writing at all), all of a sudden they’re starting to write a novel and they’re planning to have it published. I want to be fully supportive about it because I’m their friend, but I can’t be. Maybe it’s just because they haven’t found their own place in the world and I’ve always known I had the writing gig. Whatever the case, it makes me have mixed emotions because getting published is something that I’ve been working for since forever and I’ve just got some friends that can go out and do it in a week while not really caring about any of it. Guess it’s just another challenge in life or whatever. Tolerance and patience.

2 thoughts on “Summer of 2013

  1. I’ve had that very same problem! I mean this is like the one thing I have wanted all my life – I feel like shouting out -how dare you try and take this away from me, but of course you don’t. You read it (cringe inwardly) nod and make all the right noises and then try and forget the whole sorry affair! ❤ Laura ❤

    1. Exactly! It kinda feels like they’re also just trying to say “we can do this better than you without even trying.” But there are people that can’t find their own way so they have to try and be better at what their friends can do. *shrug* No hard feelings against them despite it aggravating me a bit. In a twisted way, I feel sorry for them.

Leave a Reply

