Interview with Author Richard Cotton

I am very pleased to announce that Richard Cotton is the winner of a competitive event of a Fantasy Writers group on Facebook! Who is he? He has kindly answered a list of questions that answer just that.

1. Can you tell us about yourself?

A1. I am Richard Cotton aged 54 father of autistic twins. I have two cats and live in a run down rented house. I write Science fiction and fantasy, plus sometimes the odd poem and maybe some other type of story.

2. What do you do when not writing?

A2. I read sci-fi, fantasy, do crosswords, build model kits, play the odd game and look after the twins.

3. Do you have a day job too?

A3. Not now as I am a carer of Autistic twins and that takes up most of me day and I can’t work for any amount of time or they will stop my carers pay.

4. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

A4. I first started writing when I was 14 due to poor hand writing and finished my first book within four months.

5. How did you choose the genre you write in?

A5. Well I think it chose me in a way. I didn’t know I was going to write sci-fi but that’s what happened.

6. Where do you get your ideas?

A6. My ideas come from what happens in life and sometimes what I read.

7. Do you ever experience writer’s block?

A7. I get stuck some times for ideas but soon find myself writing again within minutes.

8. Do you work with an outline, or just write?

A8. I never have an outline, I just write and see what happens.

9. Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

A9. Not really. I kind of started reading late in life around when I started to write but if there is anything that did it would be Star Trek, the old ones.

10. Can you tell us about the challenges in getting your first book published?

A10. Just trying to get a book published is a challenge and I am still trying to do this.

11. If you could go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?

A11. Yes there is. I would go back and make it so I could write a story that would be published without having to pay for it, I would hope.

12. How do you market your work? What avenues have you found work best for your genre?

A12. I market it by trying my best to sell what I have written. Only ones I have found for my writing is self publishing so far.

13. Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to publish?

A13. Yes I have. It’s sitting here in my book pile its called The Dragons.

14. Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

A14. I have one called The Black Knights which is ready.

15. Is there anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely imagination?

A15. Most of what I write is imagination but with elements of real life thrown in. The Dragons was from the first person view point and was based on what I felt when writing it.

16. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

A16. I can only say they all are but if I had to pluck one or part of one out it would be the one chapter where I felt the book was going so well it was writing it self.

17. How did you come up with the title?

A17. For my first book it was a change of Title due to it been called The Seven, and as I like dragons I changed it to that.

18. What project are you working on now?

A18. I am rewriting The Dragons because when I first wrote the book it was in the form of a diary and the publishers said it would be better as one story.

19. Do you have a new book coming out soon?

A19. No as I can’t afford to pay for them to be published and most e-book publishers want them to be paid first.

20. Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme, or idea you would love to work with?

A20. I go back to The Dragons to try the rewrite as I think it was a great idea and still do but then I find something new and leave it for a while.

21. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best complement?

A21. My toughest was that my stories were no good and I should give up writing. The best I got was that I write very well and need to get published.

22. Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

A22. Learn your craft before starting to write and make sure you have at least an inkling of an idea what you will write.

23. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers or fans?

A23. Where are you and would you love to have a book published about my stories?

For more information about this author, please see his links below:

Blog: http://www.blog.co.uk/user/richard7cotton/

Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Richard-Cotton-Author/1677080855851062

Writing Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/writersmusepage/

One thought on “Interview with Author Richard Cotton

Leave a Reply

