Interview with Author Kitty Loy

I am very pleased to announce that Kitty Loy is the winner of a competitive event of a Fantasy Writers group on Facebook! Who is she? She has kindly answered a list of questions that answer just that.

1. Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
A1.
From the Unauthorized Biography of Kitty Loy

Kitty Loy was born late to the party. Kitty came into the world three minutes after midnight on July the fifth. Ms.Loy has lived in a dozen different states, including boredom, and while having a long resume of jobs, her one true profession is storyteller. She lives with her faithful sidekick, the Husky mutt Finnegan, and is a professional student of history. Kitty’s influences include, but are not limited to, Joseph Campbell, Penn Jillette,  Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, John Shackelton, Darlene D. Bolesny, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Charline Harris, and DWS.

2. What do you do when you are not writing?
A2. 
I am sewing for the SCA events that I do ( Society for Creative Anachronism) and  the NY Fairy Festival. Reading books and being a moderator on a writers list.

3. Do you have a day job as well?
A3.
Sort of, I look after a disabled veteran as well as make costumes on order.

4. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
A4.
2008-10 I wrote “ The Hand of the Morrigan” It is being re-written since I have learned a lot and no cringe at people reading it.

5. How did you choose the genre you write in?
A5.
I fell in love with Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, the early work of Laurell K. Hamilton and Kim Harrison ,it made me want to write urban fantasy.

6. Where do you get your ideas?
A6.
Life around me always stirs up ideas. I worked in the worst metaphysical shop on the planet and it hit me that it would make a good story. I have at times met people I am willing to bet had some Fey in their lineage.

7. Do you ever experience writer’s block?
A7.
No, just not enough hours in the day.

8. Do you work with an outline, or just write?
A8.
I just write and I know where it will end.

9. Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?
A9.
My grandfather has a 3rd grade education and was from Ireland. He would tell me hero stories of when the gods roamed Ireland, then fairy tales and family stories. When I learned to read the first book I got my hands on was “The Blue Book of Fairies”. From there I read about King Arthur, Robin Hood and any story where the hero wins in the end. As an adult I was shaped by the work of Joseph Campbell and his PBS appearance with Bill Moyer on the show “The Power of Myth”. I now see stories and myths as a key to what our ancestors wanted us to know long after they had passed.

10. Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
A10.
It was on a site called “Juke Pop Serials” It was very popular and I published in instalments. However, my lack of skill editing and grammar usage was painfully apparent. It’s out there still and I see it as a lesson learned .

11. If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?
A11.
Hire and editor…I should have done that.

12. How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre?
A12.
I don’t at this time as I am writing.

13. Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?
A13.
It was written during the painful break up of my marriage and betrayal by a friend. It was wallowing in thinly disguised characters and I threw my cathartic work away when it was done. I loved that book as a way to vent all that anger and sorrow; however I knew it was self-indulgent and not sellable.

14. Can you tell us about your upcoming book?
A14.
It is set in upstate New York and has an amnesiac witch and a cranky dwarf companion.

15. Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?
A15.
One thing, I have done a lot of living and some of it was not always good. You see that in the main character Cait.

16. What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?
A16.
The first chapter where Cait discovers her life is a lie. I liked writing that whole WTF is going on aspect of it.

17. How did you come up with the title?
A17.
I still haven’t settled on a title.

18. What project are you working on now?
A18.
The story of Cait who forgot her old life and the repo men who are after her body and soul.

19. Will you have a new book coming out soon?
A19.
Not soon.

20. Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?
A20.
I would love to do a collaborative work in the form of a graphic novel. I want to do a story of what happens when magic comes back into our world based on science. Then again a collaborative work on a novel would be good too.

21. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?
A21.
“Trust me Kitty, you will never make it no editor will deal with your mistakes in grammar and punctuation. You are wasting your time.”  So called friend

“You got it in you, just don’t give up.” My English teacher 2010

22. Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?
A22.
Read a lot and not only in your genre . Do not give up.

23. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?
A23.
When I get some… well Thank you.

Here you can follow Kitty Loy’s endeavors:

https://www.facebook.com/K.L.author

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

