Author Interview with Brianna Vanderland

I would like to present an interview with one of my favorite people in the world, Brianna Vanderland!

1. What genre are your books?

I try to write an assortment of books as I don’t want to be classified as just one. I spend a lot of time in the Fantasy genre as well as writing things that will being attention to Bullying (both under Bree Vanderland). I do write some Romance (my first due out in March) and some New Adult books planned (which will be published under Brianna Vanderland).

2. What draws you to this genre?

I love Fantasy. It’s something that I can say anything goes and let my mind and creative thoughts wander. It’s more of an escape. For me, the anti-bullying things are more personal as everyone gets bullied. One day, my eight year old sister came home in tears because others she was with told her that her clothes were ugly. Eight year olds! By taking a stand, I hope to show many others that it’s not okay. As far as romance books that I write, I think everyone wants a bit of romance, is that right?

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

Currently, I’m working on editing Tempting Fate (romance) while writing Goddess Becoming (fantasy). Tempting Fate will be published at the end of March and I have no idea when Goddess Becoming will be published. I’m also working on putting together the next Authors Against Bullying anthology!

4. What’s it about?

Tempting Fate is about a lawyer named Lily Taylor who always wanted more in life, but never really reached out for it. Once her boyfriend, who was also her boss, dumps her for someone else, Lily just wants peace, but once she meets Jaxson Masters, a client for the law firm she works at, shows up, that’s the last thing he will let her get as he just wants to show her that she can have anything she wants.

Goddess Becoming is a bit more complicated than that though. It’s set in a fictional world where there are seven galaxies and seven deities to rule over each one. The narrator, who is a mystery until later in the series, tells the stoory about how Taien falls in love with the beautiful Adeline, someone who escaped the ruthless grasp of Kiro. Kiro killed Taien and plans on taking over the galaxy that Taien ruled, extending his powers, but Adeline is pregnant. It’s up to Malachi to protect Adeline, the woman he loves, and her unborn child, the only person who can save Earth and all its inhabitants.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

My main character in Goddess Becoming is Malachi – technically there are a lot, but I’ll stick with him. He’s a badass who can fight with a bow and arrow, a sword, or anything he can get his hands on. He was a bad guy who worked with Kiro, but when Kiro wanted him to kill two innocent children, he couldn’t do it. He betrayed his deity for something he thought was right. He’s special because he can do anything really, including being determined to give up his own life to save his own.

6. Have you written anything else?

I have written an assortment of books and short stories that I am proud of – such as Death Do Us Part (an anti-bullying short story), If Clouds Could Speak (another anti-bullying short story), Worlds Apart (fantasy novel), Shatter Me (free short read), A Dance with Darkness (Fantasy novel due out next month), and I have pieces in a bunch of different anthologies and books that I’m working on fixinng up to republish!

7.  What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Honestly, I don’t have plans. I would love to reach bestseller status and so much more, but I don’t plan them. My only plan, I would say, is to inspire others to write and to inspire others with the antibullying short stories that I write.

8. Which writers inspire you?

There are so many people that inspire me to write and carry on including Cameo Renae, Kate Marie Robbins, Rue Volley, JK Rowling, Stephen King, George R.R. Martin (although I hate how he kills every character I like), Philippa Gregory, and so many more! I love the indie authors that I’ve met and each and every day, I’m given a new reason to continue writing.

9.  When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I actaully didn’t plan on it. Three years ago I had an idea about an alien race that was combined with Fantasy and a deceased queen speaking to someone who was to take her place and my first book was written (and will soon be republished once I get around to fixing it up a bit) and after my first book was out, there were more stories that were speaking to me – things I couldn’t ignore and needed to be written.

10.  Do you have a special time or place to write?

I write when I can, honestly – mostly sitting in my living room with something on Netfliix on as background noise! With my schedule, I’ll take whatever time I can get! As far as why I write, I not only do it to quiet the voices in my head, but to also show my little sister, Carina, not to stop doing something that you love. She’s excited each time that she gets to see a paperback that I wrote!

11.  Where do you get your inspiration?

I get inspiration from anything I can and it comes so easily! It’s so hard to explain though – I could be listening to classical music and get an idea for another book to put on my list of books to write.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I could never be one to follow an outline. I have tried, but it seems like every time I do, my characters take the story in a completly different direction that I’ve given up on sticking to the original plan.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I do occassionally and with it, I take a step back and I try to take a break. With that, I watch something, read something, or hang out with family and friends. Occassionally, I’ll ask other writers what they would do if they were my main character – it makes for interesting conversations!

14.  What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

The hardest part about writing is that I can’t write all my ideas at once! I hate having so many to work on and not enough time to get them all out!

15.  How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Mainly, I choose to market my books by posting them online in various places. I don’t have much of a plan as I try to help promote others than promoting my own.

16. How much research do you do?

It depends on the book. Since most of my books are fantasy – there’s not a lot of research that needs to be done as well as my anti-bullying short stories as I try to make them short and to the point, more about emotions than anything else. I try to do a bit of research for my romance novels or on something that I really want to get right.

17.  Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I mainly write on a computer. Occassionally, I will handwrite things, but I can’t do that for very long and I try to type it up not long after or I’ll forget about it and it might never get typed up!

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Indigo by Kate Marie Robbins The Harry Potter Series,
Lord of the Rings series,
anything by Philippa Gregory and Cameo Renae.
The Dragonscale by JE Feldman
Anne Rice
Stephen King And there are so many others that I cannot possibly name them all!

19. Are you currently reading any books?

I am currently rereading Tempting Fate to make edits if that counts? And today, I just finished Arising from Darkness by CN Pinckard as I was editing that for Hearts on Fire Editing!

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work? You can follow me on all my sites below to find out more about me and my books and my services that I offer!

Website: authorvanderland.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/bree9327
YA Author Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/Author.Bree
NA/MA Author Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/Brianna.Author
Twitter:@AuthorBreeV
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/bree9327/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Bree-Vanderland/e/B00BK9D3ZY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1421700786&sr=8-1
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6591277.Bree_Vanderland
TSU: http://www.tsu.co/Author_Bree

Book Links:

Shatter Me: http://www.amazon.com/Shatter-Me-Bree-Vanderland-ebook/dp/B00M2JOEUO/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Worlds Apart: http://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Apart-Bree-Vanderland-ebook/dp/B00R8PMRX8/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Death Do Us Part: http://www.amazon.com/Death-Do-Part-Bree-Vanderland-ebook/dp/B00RAJIEOI/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
If Clouds Could Speak: http://www.amazon.com/Clouds-Could-Speak-Bree-Vanderland/dp/1500244414/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Authors Against Bullying: http://www.amazon.com/Authors-Against-Bullying-One-1/dp/1502561859/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Special thanks to JE Feldman for having this interview! THANK YOU, DEARIE!

Leave a Reply

