Author Interview with Travis Simmons

Copyright © Travis Simmons
Copyright © Travis Simmons

It is my pleasure to present to you an interview with Travis Simmons!

1. What genre are your books?

I write fantasy.

2. What draws you to this genre?

There are so many reasons why I love fantasy. Mainly it allows me to escape the mundane life and explore worlds that no one else has been to before. Also, it’s a super cheap way of vacationing!

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

I’m editing up a robot romance novella and I’m working on the first draft of a vampire hunter series. So excited!

4. What’s it about?

The vampire hunter series seems to be coming along much more like a superhero story than I had expected. It’s on a different world, but it’s strange because there are a lot of Earthly beasts, which isn’t something I tend to do.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Well, I do love conflict within my characters. He is the survivor of a vampire attack, but he is now part vampire himself. There are strengths that come with this, as well as weaknesses. One of the main things I love doing is exploring my characters mental struggles, and there will be loads of those!

6. Have you written anything else?

I have. I’ve written a six book fantasy saga called The Revenant Wyrd Saga as well as a zombie series that has been picked up by a publisher. This year I have several titles coming out. Some of the titles are in a new adult fantasy with heavy Norse influence, and others are stand alones.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I really would love to make a living off my writing. It doesn’t have to be gold and diamonds kind of living, but enough to support myself. That’s the dream!

8. Which writers inspire you?

I love David Eddings and Mercedes Lackey. When I was younger they really pulled me into the fantasy genre, and I’ve been an avid fan ever since.

9. When did you decide to become a writer?

I was in seventh grade when my English teacher decided we would read one book a month (maybe it was a week) and write a book report on it. It could be any book we wanted from her collection. I found David Eddings. I never knew anything about the fantasy genre, but I was hooked and knew I had to write.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I work from home, so when I’m not formatting books for authors I get some writing time in. I don’t have a special place, just my desk in my room.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

Sometimes I will just be watching a show and get this really great idea from something they’ve mentioned. Other times it’s a dream. This time, with the vampire hunter series, I really wanted to write something similar to an old gothic hunter series.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I have to outline. Even if that outline is just random notes that I can place in chronological order.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I get moments where I feel like a little kind throwing a tantrum because I don’t want to write. Normally I power through it. Sometimes I give in to it and watch Netflix.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

I have a hard time writing romance to be honest. This robot romance I wrote . . . yea, I’m not sure how that’s going to go over.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I read this really great book called Rise of the Machine about being an author in a digital age. I’ve tried so many different routes to market, and none of them worked for me. Paid advertisements were like flushing money down the drain. I just stay active on social media and maintain my blog. I talk to people like a person, I don’t try to be too professional with them. I like giving them someone they can relate to. Honestly, my sales are better doing that than they were when I was spamming my book to the masses.

16. How much research do you do?

Sometimes I do a lot of research, other times I don’t do any. If I don’t know much about a topic (like robots) I find people to question and forums online.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Computer! I can’t imagine doing it other ways. I’m not the type of author that can let an obvious typo go when I’m writing, so I would go bonkers with anything other than a computer.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

I love the Belgariad by David Eddings as well as the Valdemar series by Mercedes Lackey. Harry Potter (of course) and what I’ve read of the Pern series (which isn’t a lot).

19. Are you currently reading any books?

I’ve started The Way of Kings, but I have such a hard time reading lately. Hopefully that will change here soon.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://travissimmons.net/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authortravissimmons
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TravisSimmons5
Instagram: http://instagram.com/travis1325/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+TravisSimmons/posts
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/1z9bxLZ

Leave a Reply

