Author Interview with Laurie Wetzel

Copyright © Laurie Wetzel
Copyright © Laurie Wetzel

Here is an interview with Laurie Wetzel!

1. What genre are your books?

So far most of them are in the paranormal romance and fantasy genres, but just like with movies and music, my taste in writing varies. I also have a thriller and an erotic series in the works. If something outside of them decides to pop up in the future, I’ll write the heck out of that too.

2. What draws you to this genre?

As a reader, I’ve always radiated more toward supernatural stories and things that hug the line that makes you wonder could this really happen? As a writer, I feel paranormal and fantasy stories are less limited creatively, especially when it comes to death. Just because a character dies, it doesn’t mean it’s the end for them. A reader could even discover a character they’d slowly been growing attached to has been dead the whole time. I don’t plan on killing everyone, I’ll leave that to George R. R. Martin, but a few here and there won’t get me as much hate mail. Hopefully.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

I am getting the second book in the Unclaimed Series ready for publishing so I’m editing it. And editing. And did I mention editing? I’m also finishing up the first draft of the third book so I can add in some foreshadowing nuggets to the second book before it releases in August.

4. What’s it about?

The Unclaimed Series is told in multiple points of view. Maddy is a teenager who unknowingly restores feelings in the dead. That catches the attention of an angel, MJ, and a demon, Justin, and they both know more beings will follow. MJ works to gain Maddy’s trust while Justin works to claim Maddy. If neither succeeds before others find her, Maddy will die and the dead will return to the dark.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Even though there are many characters in Unclaimed, it’s still at heart Maddy’s story. What I like most about her isn’t the cool abilities or, at times, snarky attitude. It’s how vulnerable she is and I don’t mean in a weak way because she is such a strong character. I’m mean in the emotional sense. Each book covers a time span of about four to five days so she has to deal with some pretty intense stuff such as discovering she’s not normal—potentially not even human—having her beliefs shattered and seeing a loved one die with almost no time to fully process any of it. She charges through it because quitting isn’t an option, but instead of becoming this numb, hardened shell—she blossoms. She finds strength in herself and in those around her.

6. Have you written anything else?

I have a two-book adult paranormal romance story written that I hope to publish next year. It’s already won first place in a writing contest so I know there are quite a few people anxiously awaiting its release and I’m working on it. I promise. It’s told in multiple points of view like Unclaimed. The MC, Gabe, is a monster hunter who lives during a time when monsters rule the world. He’s on their payroll, killing monsters that break the law. Occasionally he’s tasked with bringing back special items from his hunt for those in charge. One such item is Ava, a human living with vampires. He takes her in to protect her and also uncover why they want her. Ava already knows. She and Gabe’s fate were sealed long ago. He’s supposed to put humanity back on top and she’s the weapon to help him do it.
My other stories will wait until the Unclaimed Series is finished.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I add to list this constantly, but to spare you from hogging all the space on your site, I’ll give you a few of the more important ones. I’d love to be in a position where my writing can provide for my family. I want my boys to see that taking risks and following your dreams is achievable. I’m also working on a project that will help authors who donate a portion or all of their proceeds to charity to not only make it easier for readers to find out about the books, but also to help maximize the amounts raised.

8. Which writers inspire you?

All of them. Stories are nothing more than an idea floating around in nothingness until a writer comes along and decides to give it life.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

It was my dream to be a writer when I was growing up, but back then I didn’t think I could do it. In 2011 I got back into writing and my husband encouraged me to publish. Thanks babe 😉 I write because I love it.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I write whenever I can find the time. Even if it’s just jotting down a phrase or something on my phone to change or add in later when I can get my hands on my laptop. The bulk of it though, is on the couch in the living room after my boys go to bed.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

My muse keeps irregular hours. My stories are mostly from my dreams. A scene plays in my mind like a movie and the next day I write it down. If there is quiet time or something triggers a scene like song lyrics, my mind will wonder and keep the story going. The next night, the story picks up where it left off and it continues like that until the story is finished. Every once in a while, a different story will pop up unannounced and I’ll write an outline so I don’t lose it and then go back to the original one.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I only outline a story if I’m not currently working on it, just so I don’t forget what it was. Outline or not, I don’t force the story to go one way or the other. I let the characters take the lead.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

(Knocks on wood) Not so far.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

When Unclaimed was published, it was really hard. I know holding your book in your hand is supposed to be this awesome, surreal moment, but all I could think about was that I could never tinker with it again. Even now I have to resist the urge to open up the word document and fuss with it.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Copyright © Laurie Wetzel
Copyright © Laurie Wetzel

I post on various places online as well as schedule a mixture of events and signings. I’m keeping track of what does and doesn’t work so my marketing plan will be more targeted with future books.

16. How much research do you do?

It depends on the book. For the Unclaimed Series, I wanted it to walk the line between reality and fantasy. Most places in the book are real and only a few details were changed. Many of the backgrounds of my characters come from events throughout history, too.
The research for the monster hunter story was a bit more fun. My husband and I went to the gun range and I shot several of the guns used in the book. Days like that are reasons why being an author is the best career ever.
All of my stories have a board on Pinterest I use to help collect my ideas.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Laptop, although each story has its own notepad too for times when I can’t or don’t want to use the computer.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Edgar Allen Poe, J.K. Rowling, J. R. R. Tolkien, Stephanie Meyer, Becca Fitzpatrick, Lauren Kate, E. L. James, Sylvia Day, Lisa Renee Jones, Melissa Foster, Aurora Whittlet, Kim Hruba, Angela Miller, and so many more!

19. Are you currently reading any books?

Does reading my own for editing count? I’m also reading Touch of Life by Eric E McClure.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://lauriewetzel.com
Blog: http://lauriewetzel.com
Facebook: http://facebook.com/LaurieRWetzel
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Laurie_Wetzel
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/laurie-wetzel/86/3b0/919
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/lauriewetzel/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Laurie-Wetzel/e/B00MG2J8UI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1421779926&sr=8-1
Smashwords: N/A Book Links:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1luhvqu
Itasca: http://bit.ly/1oNzNlQ
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1qkAcZB
Signed copies and swag:
https://squareup.com/market/laurie-wetzel-author?utm_source=laurie-wetzel-author&utm_medium=embed&utm_campaign=button_v1#menu
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/unclaimed-6
Copia: http://www.thecopia.com/catalog/details.html?catId=16411029
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/unclaimed/id909062319?mt=11
Scribd: http://www.scribd.com/book/236768070/Unclaimed
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1ldQHdW
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8432568.Laurie_Wetzel

 

Leave a Reply

