Author Interview with J. Christopher Thompson

Copyright © J. Christopher Thompson
Copyright © J. Christopher Thompson

Here is an interview with J. Christopher Thompson!

1. What genre are your books?

The current trilogy I am working on now is Modern Fantasy.

2. What draws you to this genre?

While I do enjoy writing stories in other genres, this one has always been a big draw for me. Mixing the of elements of fantasy, (wizards, eldritch creatures, swords, and ancient kingdoms), and the culture of our world, (technology, skeptics, guns, and corporations) has always fascinated me. What would happen if those worlds collided? What laws would bend or be broken? And what would the consequences of such a crossover be?

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

The sequel to my first book. It’s called Lineage: The Wild Hunt. The first 12 episodes (or chapters) are available on bigworldnetwork.com

4. What’s it about?

Lineage introduces us to Connor Murray, a hooligan from Waterford, Hertfordshire, England who discovers that he is the Scion of King Arthur. He is taken to an Academy on an island called Avalon – along with other descendants of the Knights of the Round Table – to be taught by the progeny of Merlin.
In Lineage: The Wild Hunt, in order to protect those nearest and dearest to him, Connor gets the hell outta Dodge. His destination, the U.S.A. What he does not realize is that the U.S., indeed all of the Americas, are home to two exiled Fae courts: Wild Fae, neutral Sidhe that try to live in peace. And the Wild Hunt, the deadliest Sidhe force ever gathered together under the sky to hunt.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

When we first meet Connor, he is a normal seventeen year old kid, and when this responsibility falls on him – the weight of being the Scion of Arthur Pendragon – it’s a heavy burden for him. What’s special about this is how he handles it. While some would ignore their duties if they were too hard, Connor tries to find ways to accomplish them. As he progresses further into the magical world of the Sidhe, Connor begins to discover things about himself. That he is not as normal as he thought. He learns a lot more about his Father’s side of the family and their own distinct Lineage.

6. Have you written anything else?

Lineage is my first published series. I’ve written other stuff, sure. Most of it is stuff that will never see the light of day, though.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I would love to write full time someday.

8. Which writers inspire you?

James A. Owen, Jim Butcher, Madeleine L’Engle, Roald Dahl, Wendy and Richard Pini.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I decided that I wanted to become a writer when I was 13. Corny as it may sound, I had reoccurring dreams about a group of people on a quest. There was fighting, curses, death. It was cool, in my opinion and I had to write it down. Easier said than done, but I was obsessed from that point on.
I write because it allows me to express ideas that are very important to me, and I can couch those ideas in ways that aren’t preachy or heavy handed. I dislike people who think they have to beat you to death with words – on the page or off – to get their point across.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

Whenever my twin boyos are in school or asleep, whenever the apartment is quiet. I sit down at the computer and start writing. That time is precious and doesn’t last long, so I make the most of it.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

Music is a key inspiration for me. A lot of the scenes from my books have a piece by Rush, Skrillex, Muse, Apocalyptica, Árstíðir, Attack on Titan, or RahXephon that fuelled them.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’ve tried outlines before, because other writers say it’s what you’re supposed to do, and it’s never worked out for me. I think it’s a good idea to have an outline as kind of a map, but it’s ok to go exploring off the map because there are all kinds of interesting things off the map.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

Yes I do. When I do, I know it’s time to switch gears. From mental work to physical work. I either take a walk, (weather permitting), clean, pace frantically, etc. If that doesn’t work, I do prep work for scouts, study the lesson I’m supposed to teach in church, or take a nap. Now if all that doesn’t work, I pop over to Reddit, to /r/WritingPrompts, look for an interesting prompt and start writing.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

The hardest, but the best thing, are the deadlines. They keep me focused and they keep me honest.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I’m a shameless self-promoter. I market myself on social media, blogs and the like. Recently I had the opportunity to go to the Salt Lake Comic Con and was able to advertise myself there. I chose this avenue because my budget is severely limited to $0.

16. How much research do you do?

It depends. If I want to go very detailed on a particular section of story, I will spend a day or two making sure I get my info right.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I typically write on the computer. I have been known to carry a composition book with me so I can jot down ideas, spontaneously compose, or just use my pen to rant.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

I do not like this type of question because I have a ton of both. Let’s see if I can hit the highlights Jim Butcher’s the Dresden Files, Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quintet, James A. Owen’s Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica, and the Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

The Wand and the Word comp. and ed. by Leonard S. Marcus. It’s a collection of author interviews and helps inspire and encourage me.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://bigworldnetwork.com/site/series/lineage/
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/pages/J-Christopher-Thompson/408835255850634?ref=hl
Twitter: @avalonacademyuk
Linkedin:https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=57822683&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile_pic
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/roandfinndaddy/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/jchristopherthompson
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8442715.J_Christopher_Thompson

Leave a Reply

