Author Interview with Daniel Black

I present an interview with Daniel Black!

1. What genre are your books?

A: I write Epic Dark Fantasy.

2. What draws you to this genre?

A: Fantasy and Science Fiction of all sorts have always appealed to me greatly, and as the saying goes, “Write what you read.”

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

A: I am currently working on a second trilogy, as well as a number of standalone novels, all set in my fantasy world of, “New Earth.”

4. What’s it about?

A: The second trilogy is part of an initial trilogy of trilogies I am doing in order to fully explain the origin of my new fantasy universe. This new trilogy is called, “Rise of Dragons.” One of the things my main characters have commented on in my first trilogy is the lack of dragons, this new trilogy will explain their absence, and they will arrive in a very big way.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

A: I have a couple of main characters, but two of them appeal to me for completely opposite reasons: Blake “The Hammer” Ingersoll: Blake’s character starts the series as one of my least interesting characters, essentially a jock with little on his mind but fun. His character developed far beyond what I expected over the course of the series, and he developed into a genuine hero.
Michelle Brown: Her character has a substantial background that affects the entire story in far more ways than are ever seen on the page. Her mother and her best friend’s mother were friends before their parents met, and died together in a tragic car accident when Michelle and her friend were small children. This event had a drastic effect on both the characters fathers, the best friends father collapsed in on himself and never recovered, while Michelle’s father essentially tried to turn her into his son. The story begins when Michelle decides to ask her boyfriend to marry her, and buys a very unfortunate wedding band.

6. Have you written anything else?

A: Yes, my first novel was actually a science fiction piece, but I decided not to publish it, and instead have been tinkering with it for years, hopefully, someday, I will consider it ready for publication.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

A: To create a fantasy world that survives me. I intend to bring other authors into my fantasy world so that it becomes a far more complex world than a single author can make it.

8. Which writers inspire you?

A: A lot of them, lol. But in particular, Robert A. Heinlein, Robert Jordan, Isaac Asimov, Terry Goodkind, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, and I am currently rereading, “The Cleric Quintet,” by R.A. Salvatore.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

A: I wrote and published my first short story at 9 years old, though after that my life became rather hectic, resulting in a drought of further writing. I write because I must, if nobody bought a single book that I wrote (Oh the horror!) I would still write, though I might not edit if that was the case.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

A: Unfortunately, the middle of the night… I don’t know why, but I do my best work from 1 am to 6 am.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

A. From people. I am one of those annoying people who talk to everyone, and I do mean everyone. When I was a child I would slip out of our apartment and roam the streets of Honolulu, talking to hookers, pimps, homeless people, cops, everyone out in the wee hours for whatever reason. These days I mainly talk to people at Walmart, but still I learn, and still I grow.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

A: A little of both. I have a general idea of where each story is going, and occasionally rush through my first draft to have an outline to expand upon, but the characters don’t always follow that outline. I think that’s when the writing is best though, when the author just sits back and observes while the characters write themselves.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

A: Yes, big time. I generally write through it, though those bits are usually edited out of the final book since they tend to feel forced.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

A: Publishing. It is easy for me to write, I do it naturally, but putting my thoughts out there for everyone to see? It’s like walking naked through the town square during rush hour. I am always afraid people will think that the views expressed by my characters are my own, I draw from everyone, and the views are decidedly not.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

A: I have yet to formally market my books. My plan as an author was to write and publish three books in eBook and Audio format, and then advertise. My third book is being converted into audio as we speak, so I expect that by March I will be advertising in full force. I will contact bloggers, newspapers, radio, television, anything and everything I can to get the word out about my series.
As far as why I chose this route. One of the things I had always heard was that a fantasy author isn’t considered to be a fantasy author until they have completed their first trilogy, and that the best way to sell a book is to write the next. So I decided to base my advertising plans off that.

16. How much research do you do?

A: A lot, I am on this computer nearly constantly, and a lot of the time I am doing research on the science for my science fiction work, and into fantasy creatures and their origins, powers, and variations.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

A: I use a computer. I have too due to a nervous system disorder that is common in my family that makes writing with a pen painful. I also dictate using dragon naturally speaking, though that sometimes breaks the flow, requiring me to start again.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

A: The authors who inspire me are my favorites, and I enjoy most of their works. Though Jack L. Chalker is a longtime favorite and I left him off the list above, his willingness to ignore the PC crowd and just write is inspiring indeed.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

A: I am currently rereading, “The Cleric Quintet.”

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

I am an open book. If you want to find out about me, contact me on Facebook and enjoy.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDanielBlack
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Daniel-Black/e/B00E3B9EEA/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Book Links:
Book One: http://tinyurl.com/BlackCareful
Book Two: http://tinyurl.com/BlackSaga
Book Three: http://tinyurl.com/BlackGodWar

Leave a Reply

