Author Interview with Johan Fleetwood

Here is an interview with Johan Fleetwood.

1. What genre are your books?

Focus on my books is a combination of soft and hard science-fiction with a lot of elements from fantasy, horror and drama. There is a lot of magic, erotica and blood in my books as the species and societies has gone back to a more primitive living despite their developed senses. Too be a part of nature and accept all living things as one.

2. What draws you to this genre?

I have always loved genres like science-fiction, fantasy and horror. I have loved reading it, writing it and watched movies in these three genres. Probably it is because I am a thinker, a philosophical individual who love to be lost in thoughts and dreams. Being able to creating places and be away from the reality I did not want to be in.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

My current project is set in the near future, in the megalopolis known as Cypress city placed in Northamkrin. Here there are many different cultures and species from all places around the universe of Romanorum, gathering and living in a beautiful but violent world. The project is called Wave (one of seven military schools the Government set up to train new kinds of troops who will defend Earth from unknown threats).
The Miniseries Wave is one of several miniseries during the Strain age (about year 2065-2085) in the large project Chronicles from Romanorum. As usual, in this miniseries I do not have characters sorted in good and bad sides because all characters have a bad and a good side. Every choice they make is affecting someone somewhere in the city, in a small or big way.

4. What’s it about?

The miniseries Wave is focusing on the conflict between Cyborgs, Superions and Clones. Three different species who think they are the cosmic perfection created in labs during the Past and Future technological eras of Mankind. They all want something for themselves in order to save their own species, but to survive they need help from other species around Amkrin, even from fractions that are scattered around the globe. As the military schools is developing their arts of warfare and training new troops the hatred among the individuals in the major species is growing.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

I have four main characters in this miniseries, two males and two females. They have different backgrounds and come from different places with different views on life, which makes them dangerous to each other but they need each other in order to survive the hard reality they are facing.
The female characters are a Nature and a Superion. They accept each other as soon they meet and choose to fight against all evil in order to protect Life and the universe. They are driven by ideas that were created thousands of years ago and never want to change in that way. Their powers are divined and in all way they are greater than anything alive, which gives them many enemies.
The male characters are a Cyborg and a Clone. These two hate each other because of the conflict between their species. They hate each other because they have to and sworn to protect the individuals whom they love the most. Not an easy task because these two individuals are bound to each other and because the outer threats from both common enemies and cultural norms, they need to survive in some way.
It can seem like a lot of clichés when I write about them in this way, but I try to write about their ideas and feelings in a greater picture and how the individual act from these feelings. How they interact with each other and how their different views creates conflict between groups and species, but also creates conflicts within themselves.

6. Have you written anything else?

I have some old stories from my childhood, mostly fan-fictionish stuff and some horror short stories, which I am about to use in my project Chronicles from Romanorum.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

For the moment I just want to write as a hobby and finishing my books in the way I want to finish them, but in the future I want to publish the books and hopefully get some readers that enjoy the universe I am creating.

8. Which writers inspire you?

The writer who has inspired me most is C.S Lewis, the author of Narnia. I have loved Narnia since I was a little kid and still I love the books which are a beautiful combination of the modern era with mythologies and religion in a beautiful world that never seems to fade.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

It started when I was very young and maybe it has to do with my philosophical part. I did not decide to become a writer; it just came to me naturally. I write because it is a part of who I am and without writing I lose a great part of my identity.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I can write anytime, but I have favorite moments when I write. Mostly it is in the morning or in the evening when my brain is most active. When I am writing it could be in any place, like on the bus, in bed, at my desk in the bottom floor of the house, the library. It doesn’t matter where I am, the most important is that I get the writing done.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

I have a lot of places in where I can get inspiration. Reading books or having a walk in nature, watching movies, watching pictures of natures and animals, listening to music give me a lot of emotions I can use while I write.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I prefer to see where the idea takes me before I work on an outline. I hate to have a structure for my writing and want to make the worlds to grow by themselves, like a big garden of life and adventures.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

It happens sometimes. Not often, but it happens. When it does I just try to accept it and let it pass as I do other things I love to do, like watching movies or listening to music. After some days the block has cracked and I can return to my writing. It is all about acceptance.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Endings. The hardest thing about my writing is to come up with a great ending that really marks the readers of what really happened and making the reader wanting more of the story. Also, I do not want to write an ending that feels to cliché or something that totally crash the feeling I try to create in my books.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

For the moment, I only have my author pages on FB (one swedish and one english). For the moment when I do not looking for publishing my books, I just take things slow and only talk a little about them and my progress in my writing on these author pages. Things will probably change if I manage to publish the books.

16. How much research do you do?

When I start a book I do not do much research in different subjects, but when I know more about the story and what subjects the book is going to have I start to make a deep dive into books and on the Internet so I can find out as much as possible about that specific subject. For example, it can be cloning, warfare, weapons, aero planes, mythology or religion.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I write on my laptop and longhand.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

For me I have only two: C.S Lewis and Rosemary Kirsten. They write in an easy and magical way that makes you want more about their worlds and the characters that are living in them.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

For the moment I read The Steerswoman by Rosemary Kirsten, the first book in a fantasy/science-fiction-series about Rowan, a Steerwoman and a truthbearer. You will follow her adventure to find about the truth and origin of magic, the only thing she doesn’t know anything about. On her adventure she meets a lot of danger and different kinds of people, but will be helped by a female Outskirter…

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Facebook: Johan Fleetwood – Author, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Johan-Fleetwood-Author/307802496063576
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/johanfleetwood

6 thoughts on “Author Interview with Johan Fleetwood

  1. You could always interview me about my books… Having been made responsible for my own publicity, I find myself forced to type out pushy messages like this one. Please don’t be offended.

      1. I’ve just started following your blog. If you’re interested in my books, please visit my blog, http://leeduigon.com , and click “Books” for covers, sample chapters, etc. And I’m perfectly comfortable doing interviews via email, if that’s a help to you.

      2. The only problem here is that I don’t know how to do Facebook. Computer operations is my weak point. What I had in mind was an email exchange, if that’s OK with you–I’ve already done a few interviews via email, both as interviewer and interviewee. You send me your questions, I send you my answers, and we take it from there. Is that OK? If so, let me know, and I’ll give you my email address.

Leave a Reply

