Author Interview with Debbie Manber Kupfer

I introduce to you the author of “P.A.W.S.” and “Argentum.”

Copyright © Debbie Manber Kupfer
Copyright © Debbie Manber Kupfer

1. What genre are your books?

My main series is YA fantasy, but I also write puzzles for magazines and dabble in different genres in short stories.

2. What draws you to this genre?

Fantasy is my absolute favorite genre to read. Also with magic you can go anywhere, do anything – I like that.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently working on two projects. The first is book 3 of my P.A.W.S. series, which is tentatively called Maze of Shadows. The second project is a book of logic puzzles, Paws4Logic, that should be released in a month or so.

4. What’s it about?

Miri’s journey takes her to Israel to discover the secrets hidden inside the book she received in Argentum. By reading the hidden story she begins to understand how her omama, Celia, and her opapa, Max, used their magic to escape from the Nazis.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does she do that is special?

Miri is a lot like me. She was bullied for being different when she younger, but the experience has made her stronger. Her magic is formidable, but she still struggles to use it effectively. She cares deeply for her friends and Maze of Shadows finds her in a situation where she is isolated from them. (I won’t say too much as I don’t want to spoil it for my readers.)

6. Have you written anything else?

Yep, apart from P.A.W.S. and Argentum I have stories in a number of anthologies including Fauxpocalypse, Darkly Never After, Sins of the Past and Heroes & Villains.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Just to finish and publish my series and hope that it’s read and enjoyed by a lot of people.

8. Which writers inspire you?

Long list here, but it includes Neil Gaiman, J.K. Rowling, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, Cassandra Clare and Cornelia Funke.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

Probably “decided” to become a writer when I was about eight years old and wrote a series of school stories in a bunch of notebooks. I write because I’ve always written. I enjoy putting words onto paper and seeing where they lead me.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

Not really – with two kids I just fit in the words whenever I have time.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

I love to sit in cafes and people watch. I get a lot of inspiration from my observations.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’m mostly a discovery writer. I might jot a few ideas down in a notebook before I write, but mostly I just let the story take me where it will. The only exception is that as I’m writing a series I do keep an up-to-date timeline and character list. Consistency is really important when you have historical events intertwined with fiction.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

A little. I find going for walk helps. I think better with fresh air and a change of scenery.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Not being distracted. The internet and Facebook in particular are dangerous for me. When I know I have something to complete I don’t let myself go on the internet until I’m done otherwise I can waste a whole day that way.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

A combination of stuff online and local events. For example I was part of a fantasy writer’s blog tour in January and will be doing another in June. I’ve also done local book signings at indie bookstores and libraries.

16. How much research do you do?

I research as needed and enjoy the process. For Argentum for example I virtually visited Wales and Ireland, worked out how long it would take an owl to fly across Europe and studied the history of the teabag!

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Mostly directly into my computer, though occasionally I will write stories or chapters longhand on paper while I’m out and the type them up when I return home.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy, Douglas Adams; All of the Harry Potter series (but particularly book 3); Terry Pratchett’s Thief of Time; The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak; Inkheart, Cornelia Funke; Davita’s Harp, Chaim Potok; Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

Just finished A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen (a birthday present from a good friend who knew I would love it) and currently reading The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Blogs:
Paws4Thought (writing) – https://debbiemanberkupfer.wordpress.com/

Paws4Puzzles (puzzles) – https://paws4puzzles.wordpress.com/

Facebook Author page: https://www.facebook.com/DebbieManberKupferAuthor?ref=hl
P.A.W.S. https://www.facebook.com/PawsInstituteOfTheMidwest?ref=hl

Puzzles: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Paws4Puzzles/255518324584444?ref=hl

Twitter: @CiciCat42
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Debbie-Manber-Kupfer/e/B00DHPNJ5I/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1421944889&sr=8-1

Book Links:
P.A.W.S. http://amzn.com/B00DNJP4UG
Argentum: http://amzn.com/B00OVEA52E

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7142164.Debbie_Manber_Kupfer

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: There will be a $0.99 sale on Argentum Feb 13th-15th!

One thought on “Author Interview with Debbie Manber Kupfer

Leave a Reply

