Author Interview with Eli Carrow

I present to you all an interview with a dear friend of mine, Eli Carrow.

1. What genre are your books?

My primary genre is Fantasy but I also write thrillers and horror.

2. What draws you to this genre?

Ever since I first read Lord of the Rings as a 10 year old I have been hooked on the whole fantasy thing from reading through to roleplay.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

Provisionally titled Kosar’s Legacy, it’s a mish mash of Lovecraft, zombie apocalypse and epic fantasy.

4. What’s it about?

The underlying theme is that all actions have consequences. We see the consequences of Kosar’s actions have their ultimate effect hundreds of years later on the lives of Kallian and Lysanne, two ordinary young lovers whose lives are irrevocably torn apart.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Lysanne is the adopted daughter of a blacksmith who by chance absorbs the essence of a dragon and begins to exhibit many physical changes and strange abilities. Before long it becomes apparent that she is far more than she used to be which comes in handy as the….oh, don’t want to reveal too much! I’ll stop there!

6. Have you written anything else?

An apocalyptic Superhero story set in the last few days before an overwhelming alien invasion. A hitman love story written in the first person. A serial killer crime thriller. A galaxy spanning sci-fi epic and a couple of others. Most are in first draft at the most but I’ll finish them soon enough!

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Aim for the stars, hope for the moon. I want what every writer wants of course- to be the next J K Rowling!

8. Which writers inspire you?

Patrick Rothfuss, Dan Worth, Dan Abnet, Brian Lumley, Tolkien, Lovecraft, Terry Goodkind, David Eddings and the many writers of the Dragonlance novels.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I’ve always had a proclivity for story telling, the ideas floating around in my head all hours of the day. Prior to 2011 I used to scratch that particular itch with table-top roleplaying games but at some point in 2011 I just said to myself, I’m going to write a novel…

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

No I don’t but I do have to write with music playing quite loud. Once I get started the music helps blot out the continual noise from my overactive min- ooh shiny!

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

From all around me. Every TV programme I watch, every book I read sets off a dozen trains of thought.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I do a bit of both, usually, when an idea resonates enough for me to get writing I just write with no clear direction. If it turns out well I usually do an outline and carry on, if it doesn’t it gets filed in the “maybe later” pile.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I rarely get it but when I do I simply do something else that requires a modicum of concentration and BAM!

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Adverbs…I love them. Can’t get enough of them and everybody else is telling me to drop them!

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Ask me again in 6-8 months!

16. How much research do you do?

Don’t mean to sound at all facetious but I do as much research as I need to do. I do find though that it’s only the minutia that I need to research. I’m lucky in that I have a very cinematic mind and can visualise quite vividly.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I type, my handwriting is barely legible! I am toying with the idea of dictating software though…

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Anything by the authors I listed before. I love the Progenitor Trilogy by Dan Worth and adore Pat Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicles. Like many other people I am crying out for Day Three!

19. Are you currently reading any books?

I’m about half way through the last book in the Progenitor Trilogy at the moment, must be the fourth time I’ve read them.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

At the moment I only exist on Facebook but will soon be starting a blog as Kosar’s Legacy nears completion.
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/EliCarrow

One thought on “Author Interview with Eli Carrow

  1. Pingback: Check me out being all interviewed and that! | elicarrow

Leave a Reply

