Author Interview with Michael Rockwell

Here is an interview with my good friend, Michael Rockwell.

1. What genre are your books?

It varies depending on the book at hand. My current book that has my attention mostly is a light romance novel with some magic thrown in there. While the other one, including the ones that follow it, is a mix of many genres into one. Most of my books tend to be a mix.

2. What draws you to this genre?

Personally I am not a fan of sticking with just one specific genre. I think limiting myself to one genre puts a strangle on myself as to what I want to do in the story itself.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

Currently I am working on two books. The Fox And The Wolf is currently the one I am focusing on and plan to publish first.

4. What’s it about?

The story is about a guy named Wolf, who ends up meeting this mysterious woman in his life that ends up changing him for the better. It’s a very simple story, a short story, but it has more depth to it then it seems.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

I like to think the most special thing about this character, is that there isn’t anything special. He’s the only main character I have thought up who is just a regular guy who just dreams big in life.

6. Have you written anything else?

I have written in the past but nothing has ever come about them. One day though, they will be released onto the world.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I hope to achieve a sense of inspiring people in a way. In every story I write, I try to create and underlining message to the reader in hopes they learn something. Be it about love, getting over death, overcoming your greatest fears. Another thing I hope to achieve is that a reader messages me or tells me face to face that I made them shed a tear because of what they read. If I can do just that, I know I am doing something right.

8. Which writers inspire you?

In all honestly, I never read much growing up. I used to think reading was a chore for book reports. So granted, not a lot of writers inspired me. The only two that come to mind that inspired me would be JK Rowling and Tom Clancy. Though if I had to count more than book writers, I would also count many screenplay writers for games and films.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

This one is confusing to answer specifically because I had gone back and forth for so long that it’s hard to keep track haha. It wasn’t until two years ago that I finally decided that writing out these stories into books was the way to go. When this all began for me, it was fifth grade. I had just began my artistic life and ended up creating my first original character, who will eventually get his own book down the line. So ever since then, I have strived to tell people the stories that ooze out of my skull. I went from wanting to make my own comic books, to making my own films. It was until High School that the thought of writing a book came to mind, and even then I was unsure. To me, it felt like a lost dream, that maybe it would never happen. I know though that when you have a mind of a writer, a mind I know too well, you can’t keep these ideas in your head. You need to let it out, let people see what lurks inside that crazy mind of ours. That’s why I write.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I like to write during my lunch hour or right after work. It’s best to do it then because I feel more awake. On my days off I feel more tired and exhausted.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

I’ve gotten my inspiration from all sorts of things be it books, comics, films and video games. My two current books were actually inspired by music and a dream.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I work on an outline, but I don’t tend to write it down. It’s all stashed away in my memory.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I do at times. The way I overcome it is taking breaks. That’s one thing I can’t do is write constantly. I have learned in the past that if I focus so much attention on a book, I’ll drive myself insane. So when I do take my breaks, I use my time while working at my job to think on where I am at in the story, and think of how to fix it. Usually I end up fixing it in a day or two.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Making sure dialogue sounds natural and real. I hate making things sound forced.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Well I haven’t begun marketing yet but once I get closer to my first publishing date, I plan to use my Youtube channel to market it off. There are still certain things I am trying to figure out as well, but for now Youtube will be my big marketing area.

16. How much research do you do?

Well for my current book, I am not looking to do much research. I am wanting it to be accurate, but at the same time I don’t want to limit myself too much. The book is being written for a reason, a reason I can’t say right now. So because of that, certain things were done to be more in tune with what I am aiming at. But books like my main series, I try do as much research as possible.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Computer

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

The Harry Potter series holds a big magical wand to my heart.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

I was currently reading “Gone Girl”, but life put that on hold. I have so much stuff going on in my life that I really don’t have much time just enjoying myself. I have writing, Youtube, a job, and a girlfriend to put all my focus on so I don’t have time to read or watch movies as much as I used to.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

For now I do not have a Facebook page for my writing. When I do though, you can always follow me on my Facebook page linked below.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Man-Of-Justice-21/171794436234445
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ManOfJustice21

10 thoughts on “Author Interview with Michael Rockwell

      1. It’s 1 p.m. and I still have not received your email (our phone isn’t working, either!), and I can’t be sure my email came out at your end, so I have another idea.

        Better than nothing: I could reply to the same questions you asked your last interview, and email my answers to you. Do I have your email address right? dragonfury40@hotmail.com

        If you need further information, or elaboration, and the email still doesn’t work, might we communicate through your blog?

        I’m frustrated that this simple transaction seems to be so full of problems. Thank you for your patience.

Leave a Reply

