Author Interview with Gwen Selix

I present to my lovely readers my awesome friend, Gwen Selix!

1. What genre are your books?

Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

2. What draws you to this genre?

I like that I can make it up as I go there are no rules for me to really follow.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

I am working on several. I am currently editing House on the Hill my next major novel. I am also working slowly on Premonition book 2 in the Evermore Trilogy. As well as a few other projects that are to be titled.

4. What’s it about?

House on the Hill is my major project right now.
No one ever forgets their first time in the House. But for Rebecca it is an escape from the Hell she lives in. Will she find meaning to her poor life or will the Monster come to claim her yet again.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Rebecca is a young girl who has lived in a nightmare her entire life. She desperately wants to escape the life she has been living but doesn’t know how. Not until one rainy night she takes a chance and winds up on the ride of a life time.

6. Have you written anything else?

My first book Shadows of Pandora was released last year and is currently being edited to go back up for a second edition.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I want people to be touched by my work. And honestly my dream is to have my own Fandom.

8. Which writers inspire you?

J.K.Rowling, F Scott Fitzgerald. Jane Austen, Shelly Crane, Cassie Mae, Jessica Verday, J.R.R. Tolkin

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I decided I wanted to become a writer when I was really little around the age of three actually. I write because if I don’t my brain may actually explode. I have so many ideas swirling around in my head and I love it.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I write whenever I can. No really special time. I like to sit on my best friends bedroom floor and write with her.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

Everywhere. Music, Pictures, art, life around me.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I prefer to see where my ideas take. I get stuck if I outline and keep a plan of where I am supposed to go.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I get it way more than I care to admit. I usually take that as my time to read and refresh my brain. Stephen King once said “To be a great writer you have to be a great reader.” I take that to heart and read as often as I can. I also use Harry Potter. When I am having a really bad block I will pop in one of those movies and it clears my brain and inspiration hits.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Getting a book finished. I am always getting more ideas in my head and I want to write the new story. I have to force myself to focus.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I make banners and promote online as much as I can.

16. How much research do you do?

Depends on my book. With Shadows it was months of research on Greek Mythology.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Computer and long hand usually. I love writing long hand I get less distracted that way. I wish I had a typewriter. I have been begging for one for ages now. Someday I hope to have one. I want a good old fashioned one.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

The Great Gatsby is my all-time favorite book. I have read it so many times. I honestly have no idea why. I also love the Harry Potter series. I find most of my inspiration from there. Alice in Wonderland, Secret Garden, and A little Princess. Are some of the earliest books I can remember reading.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

Several, I am reading  Gemini by Penelope Ward, Blythwood by Carol Goodman, Switched by Amanda Hocking.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website:  http://gwenselix.com/
Blog: gwenselixsnovelblog
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gwenselix
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GwenSelix
Lnkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?trk=hb_tab_pro_top
Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/gwenmalfoy/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Gwen-Selix/e/B00J783Z12/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1423255954&sr=8-1
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7787961.Gwen_Selix
Wattpad: http://www.wattpad.com/user/GwenMalfoy

Leave a Reply

