How I Develop Writing Ideas

As more people in my community learn that I’m a writer, I keep getting the same questions asked of me. I thought I would take the time to answer them all one by one here since most of them now follow me here.

So here’s the first one: How do you develop writing ideas?

I don’t sit down and try to come up with an idea to write. I wait until it hits me, which is extremely often and slightly annoying when I have other projects going on. I ended up having so many ideas and too many unfinished projects that I started to keep a Word document specifically for listing ideas with descriptions. This makes sure that I don’t lose the idea or the mindset that I had for writing it when I finally get back to it.

There are planners and there are pantzers. I’m a pantzer because I just sit down and write. There is no planning involved until 2/3rds of the book is written and I want to make sure that all of the loose ends to subplots are tied together. This is how it has always been for me. Stay tuned for more questions that I will answer about my writing.

Leave a Reply

