Interview with Author A.J. Alldis

I would like to present an interview with Author A.J. Alldis!
  1. What genre are your books? I write mostly dark fantasy but have dabbled in horror and contemporary YA.

    Copyright © A.J. Alldis
    Copyright © A.J. Alldis
  2. What draws you to this genre? Not everything in life has a happy ending. I like telling stories from a darker point of view to reflect this.
  3. What project are you working on at the moment? I’m currently working on two projects: a dark fantasy novel and a zombie novella.
  4. What’s it about? The novel is about an indebted thief forced to infiltrate a mysterious village and steal a powerful relic in order to repay his debt. The zombie novella is about a man travelling through a zombie-infested Florida in order to deliver a love letter he found in a dead man’s hand.
  5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special? Del Kanadis is the main character in the novel. He’s a cocky, selfish thief that thinks of nothing but himself and his quest for freedom. He has a talent for getting other people to do his dirty work and rarely gets blood on his own hands.
  6. Have you written anything else? I’ve written some horror and contemporary YA short stories that I’m currently shopping around.
  7. What are your ambitions for your writing career? I’d loved to be traditionally published one day, but really, just to write stories people enjoy reading is good enough for now.
  8. Which writers inspire you? John Green is one of my favourite authors. I love his narrative style and it’s really helped help me hone my own narrative voice.
  9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write? I don’t think I ever really decided to become a writer. I’ve just always loved writing stories, even from a very young age. My father writes fantasy as well so it’s probably genetic.
  10. Do you have a special time or place to write? I prefer to write in the mornings before the day has fully drained my creative juices. I can write a night with the aid of copious amounts of coffee.
  11. Where do you get your inspiration? Life. There are so many things in everyday life that spark ideas for new and exciting stories. Everywhere you look you’ll see potential novels-to-be.
  12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you? I sketch out a rough outline of the scenes I’d like to see in the story, but I write each scene organically, changing paths if the story should dictate something better or more logical.
  13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it? I often get writer’s block. I overcome it by writing something new or reading until the muse returns. It usually doesn’t last more than a day before I get the writing bug back.
  14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing? Writing. I mean, actually forcing myself to stick to my routine and write every day if I can. Life has a habit of trying to squelch that plan on the daily basis.
  15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route? I do not have any completed books to market at this time. I am nearly finished my first novel which I plan to submit to various fantasy agents upon completion.
  16. How much research do you do? Depends on what I’m writing. The majority of what I write is fantasy which I feels gives a lot of freedom to make up your own rules. For instance, Del Kanadis has a gun that shoots elemental energy out of finely cut crystal; no research required. Other times, like how long a horse can actually carry a rider without rest, needs a certain amount of accuracy.
  17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand? I write mostly on my laptop, but break out my tablet or phone if I need to get something down while I’m away from the computer. In the car, I use a hands-free dictation app. Safety first.
  18. What are some of your favorite books/authors? My favourite author is John Green. I love his style and even though he writes YA and I am nowhere near a YA, his stories resonate with me. Favourite books are LOTR, Hunger Games, Jurassic Park and The Fault in Our Stars.
  19. Are you currently reading any books? Currently reading John Green’s Looking For Alaska.
  20. How can readers discover more about you and your work? Readers can follow @alldis on Twitter, or friend me on Facebook. There’s only two Adam Alldis’s on Facebook and I’m the one from Canada.

Website: alldis.ca (under construction)

Facebook: Adam Alldis (Canada)

Twitter: @alldis

Leave a Reply

