Interview with Author Chadden Magdalena Basnik

I’d like to present an interview with author Chadden Magdalena Basnik!

  1. What genre are your books?

My stories are predominantly horror, supernatural and fantasy.

  1. What draws you to these genres?

It is what I’ve always found most appealing to read.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently creating a book of short stories.

  1. What’s it about?

I’ve been working an intriguing idea of each story being connected by a character in the previous story, so a background character gets bumped into being the main character.  I’m enjoying putting my imaginative spin on things, and it’s been a fun project thus far.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Being it’s short stories, there is more than one main character, but I’m trying to make each flawed in a particular way.

  1. Have you written anything else?

I’ve written shorts, short shorts, and poetry.  I do have a couple of children’s books that are in the editing stage.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Tough question.  I love to write, and that in itself is ambitious.  I guess I’m baby stepping it.  Whether everything I create will sit safely tucked away collecting dust, like Kafka’s writings, or whether I aim higher, I just don’t know yet.  It’s a big playing field out there with lots of really good players.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Poets, always poets.  Anyone from William Wordsworth (I wander lonely as a cloud) to Edgar Allan Poe (All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream).

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

As soon as I discovered those squiggly lines could express what’s in your head..and that pencils weren’t just for chewing off the erasers and spitting them at your brother.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

Oh, yes, I do.  In my new apartment, I put together a craft room that is filled with the things that energize, inspire and motivate me.  I’m jazzed to jump down there every morning.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

Lately it’s been people.  I’ve been really studying mannerisms, verbiage, movement.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’ve never worked with an outline, but I’ve been doing my utmost to incorporate that into my system of writing.  I’m not disciplined in the ordinary sense, so structure is a difficulty for me.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

Sure.  I prefer to call it laziness.  I give in to it.  I do a bit of self talk, watch movies, coddle myself like a child.  It’s when you fight it that it refuses to leave.  Sometimes all it takes is a really good book to bounce you back into your chair.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Putting it out there.  Belief that anyone could find the craziness in my head worth their time.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I usually just submit things to contests or web magazines.  I haven’t tried to go at it with a full on story between two covers.  Nuh-uh…not ready for that yet.

  1. How much research do you do?

Crazy amounts.  It’s my favorite part of writing, to be honest.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I use a computer but always have a notebook with me.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Books, immediate to my head: Lolita, The Road, Veronika Decides to Die, Survivor.  Authors: Stephen King, George R.R. Martin, J. R.R. Tolkien, Ray Bradbury, Sylvia Plath, Fernando Pessoa, any of the russian greats..this list would get very long.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

Of course.  It’s usually four or five at a time.  Presently reading:  Leaving New York, Writers Look Back, edited by Kathleen Norris; Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica; Marina by Carlos Ruis Zafon; Iliad written by Homer and translated by Stanley Lombardo.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website:  https://chaddenmagdalenabasnik.wordpress.com/

Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/cbasnik/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/25026936-chadden-basnik

Leave a Reply

