Interview with Author Kyle Della-Rocco

Introducing an interview with Kyle Della-Rocco!

INTERVIEW

  1. What genre are your books?

Urban Fantasy/Fantasy

  1. What draws you to this genre?

I’ve never felt an attachment to the real world as I have had with the fantasy genre. Much of my younger years and even some of my adult life has been spent in one book or another. I have a passion for literature that nothing else equals.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

My current work in project is called Way of the Gods, which I hope to one day turn into a trilogy.

  1. What’s it about?

The story is of a young man who is in love but must forsake his love when he is thrust into a world of magic and gods. The gods have been busy, creating relics which give limited powers to the mortals who possess them. These relics turn out to be keys which lock away the gods to their own realms, and when they are destroyed they release the old gods into our world.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Jeddah Williams has a special link with the god Odin, which gives him insight and knowledge when he needs it most. He can see connections forming and understand the world better as he can see visions of things that have already been or things that have yet to come.

  1. Have you written anything else?

I have a few other works in progress, and have written dozens of short stories. My favorite short story is the tale of a man who invents a watch that can allow him to travel back in time to save his wife, however Father Time intervenes and tries to show him the errors of his way.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

My current hopes is to one day become a published author for one of the major trade publishers like Penguin Group or ROC. I would love to work for someone where my creative visions inspire future generations in my writing.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Jim Butcher has been a big influence on my fascination with Urban Fantasy. He has shown me that magic’s power doesn’t just come from thin air, it comes from the strength or terrifying power from within those who wield it. I have also enjoyed the works of Terry Goodkind, Robert Jordan and also Tolkein.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I’ve known that I want to be a writer since I was the age of about eight years old. Reading has allowed me to escape the harshness that reality presents every day, and has also shown me some extraordinary things about myself and given me insight into the world around me. Writing has taught me how to love and laugh, to find wonder in the smallest of acts or awe in the largest of wonders. Sharing stories has always been a part of human culture, no matter the form it takes.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

My best writing takes place at the middle of the night, for that is often when I am most active. During my late teens you would have often found me huddled over a book or a dimly lit computer screen typing away some idea that I had for a story.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

Every experience that you have ever had is a part of you, no matter how small or inconsequential. That means that every movie I have watched, television show I have viewed and every book that I have read is what I draw inspiration from, whether I consciously realize it or not. My inspiration comes from the core of myself because those small acts that inspire every day men are what I want to share with everyone else. I want to show that it isn’t defeating the bad guy at the end of the story that is the hero’s greatest triumph, but the small acts of kindness that are what make us as a species so great.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

Often I find myself just typing away at the keyboard and seeing where the idea takes me. I only ever really write out an outline when I feel that I am stuck and not sure where I want to take the story, or where it should be progressing.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block?

How do you overcome it? One of the greatest challenges that a writer can face is not knowing what to write. The only thing that I have found that really helps me get over it is to write. You can edit and revise bad writing, but you can’t edit a blank page.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Naming characters, concepts or places has always been a real struggle. Often I have to pull from other sources of inspiration such as a family member or from a story I once read to find a good name for a character.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I’ve never been published, but if I were to need to market my books I would use the internet because there are so many people using it that it would be foolish not to use this amazing tool to get the word out there that my book is ready to be read.

  1. How much research do you do?

Most of my research is done to make a place seem authentic, and since most of my writing takes place in real world locations I want the writer to feel like they are actually there. It’s not enough to just imagine that I am at the top floor of the luxurious Luxor hotel, I want to find photos and visit the place if I can so I can get a feel at what luxury actually feels like.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I used to try to write everything out on paper, but the keyboard has become my main tool for writing. I’ve written many stories on many different computers, sometimes losing the computer and the story altogether.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

The Dresden Files series is my favorite book series of all time, written by Jim Butcher. It’s not a well-known series, but I have been absolutely spell bound by how the series of stories has grown and evolved.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

I am currently reading a book called Stormdancer that a friend recommended me, and the idea behind it is simply fascinating.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Most of my work I post on my personal Facebook page, as I’m not very well even among the less well known authors that I am currently working with in this anthology. Hopefully this will be the first step in my introduction into the world of writing.

Website/Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Convocare

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/37934383-kyle-della-rocco

Leave a Reply

