Interview with Author Thomas Atwood

Here is an interview with a good friend, Thomas Atwood!

  1. What genre are your books?

My current novel is an Urban Fantasy novel, but I’ve written Crime Thrillers, Romances, Sci-fi, High Fantasy and mysteries.  Urban Fantasy happens to be my favorite.

  1. What draws you to this genre?

    13062859_10153424229347455_7756307245683268875_o
    Copyright © Thomas Atwood

It allows you to explore real world issues and problems while having that fantastic element to it.  Plus who doesn’t like imaging Gandalf as a grizzled detective.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

I’m working on a novel called Dauntless.

  1. What’s it about?

My main character Kacey, receives a package on the day of her eighteenth birthday.  That package reveals that her family belong to a long line of Mages who are dedicated to protecting mankind from the forces of darkness.  She has to work to uncover what’s real about her family, and what’s lies, all while evading forces that seek to capture her.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

The one thing that makes Kacey special is that she refuses to give up, ever.  No matter what she’s thrown against, she keeps on fighting with no doubt that she’ll succeed.

  1. Have you written anything else?

A few short stories here and there, but nothing published.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I hope to one day have a series of books published, and be a full time writer.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Jim Butcher, Brandon Sanderson, Joss Whedon, Stan Lee, John Green and Alexandre Dumas are my major inspirations.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I first started writing when I was a kid and my Dad got me a copy of The Legends of King Arthur.  From there I’d imagine Arthur and his knights on adventures that weren’t in the books.  I got really into comics shortly after that and I started writing the adventures I thought of at the advice of my English teacher.  I write so that I can create characters that inspire people, who teach them that they can rise up and become something special, something legendary.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

Whenever I get some time in.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

It varies.  I’ve been inspired by everything from an episode of TV to a strange frost pattern on my car windshield.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

For my rough draft I just sit down and start writing.  From there, I read my rough draft, figure out what works and what doesn’t, and making an outline from there.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I have several times.  When I do, I work out, watch a good movie, and once I’m feeling good about it I get back to work.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

The hardest thing about it is finding the time while managing friends, family and helping others.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I have an author page and I post information about my works on it.  I went with this avenue because of the luck my friends have had with it.

  1. How much research do you do?

It depends on how much of a grasp I have on the concept that I’m working with.  If I already have a clear grasp on it, I just do a quick refresher.  If it’s something foreign to me, than I pour through every website and book I can get on it.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I use a computer.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Three Musketeers, Grave Peril, and Harry Potter and the Mistborn Trilogy are my favorite books, and Jim Butcher, Alexandre Dumas, and Brandon Sanderson are my favorite authors.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

Currently I’m working on Paper Towns by John Green

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/tatwoodauthor

Twitter:  @tatwoodauthor

Leave a Reply

