Interview with Author Jordanne Fuller

Here is author Jordanne Fuller!

  1. What genre are your books?

I write everything from paranormal, to fantasy, to science fiction, to abuse. I like writing whatever flows through me at the time.

Copyright © Jordanne Fuller
Copyright © Jordanne Fuller
  1. What draws you to this genre?

My inspiration is what draws me. I take inspiration from everything around me and so I find that it randomizes my work.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

I have many sequels on my mind for the various shorts I’ve already published. I also have a few projects that I am working on with my good friend Gina A. Watson. One of which will be in the same universe as Trapped, my story featured within Curse of the Heroines. My main project will hopefully be my novel series: Night. I want to get that baby out into the world, especially since I recently had a short prequel released in the Mystical Bites Anthology.

  1. What’s it about?

In Night, humans are forced to become nocturnal creatures just to survive a world teeming with zombies and vampires alike. The swift decline in population has forced technology back to the Victorian era, causing most things to run on steam and oil. Oil being difficult to obtain, steam replaces even that in most cases. You follow a rather large group of characters based on people in real life, through their fight against the monsters to find an easier, and better tomorrow, or in most cases just survive until the next day.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

The female protagonist in Night is named Lilith. She is a very talented fighter, using two katanas, which is difficult for even experienced wielders. She is a young mother, trying to raise a son in a broken world full of dangers we could only dream of today. She is a very strong woman, yet does not hesitate to lean on those around her when need be. She still has many downfalls, her self worth being an example. When not fighting the undead or taking care of her son, Lilith uses her seamstress skills to

  1. Have you written anything else?

Oh yes, I have three short stories published in anthologies, three of which I am working on sequels to. I have three or more projects in the works with Gina A. Watson, and I’m on the team to bring in a short for the upcoming anthology in the Sha’Daa shared universe series, produced by Michael H. Hanson. My stories are as follows: Troy, in the Love Sucks Anthology; The Flight of Phoenix, in the Twisted Tales Anthology; and Dusk, in the Mythical Bites Anthology.

Night, the first novel in the Night series, is finished and only needs to finish going through the editing processes.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Become a billionaire. No, I’m totally kidding, although it would be nice. I would like to have my works all out there for people to read. Making a career out of it would be nice as well, but it’s not particularly an ambition. I really just want to leave a part of myself on this Earth long after I’m gone.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Almost any do, just the fact that people write and are known for their work inspires me. To be specific, however, Richelle Mead’s work inspires me to write because the way she words her thoughts makes writing seem so easy. It isn’t, for the record. I’m inspired by how hard J.K. Rowling pushed and how far it got her. I’m inspired by the worlds of Orson Scott Card, Ian Irvine (and inspired by his great educational material he posted on his website that simplifies writing, editing, and publishing ), and many others. I am inspired by the depth and literary complexities within classics such as Dorian Gray, Othello, Fahrenheit 451, and again many others.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I have always had a penchant for writing. I remember co-writing my first play when I was very young, using a blue pencil crayon and a pad of lined paper my mom had given my brother, my friend and I. I’m not entirely sure how old I was, but I am certain I had not yet reached double digits. I had since thought getting published was a pipe dream.  Last year however, I decided to take life by the horns and submit my first work to a publishing company. Dusk was the first piece to get accepted by a publishing company. I have not looked back since.

I write to escape and give others the same escape into a world that had only been within my mind until then.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

Not particularly. My mobility is often impaired, so going elsewhere to write is difficult. I love editing at the park while my son runs around when I’m feeling well enough to do so. I write when I’m inspired or when I have a looming deadline.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

I quite literally get my inspiration from everything. Things I see on the internet, pictures, things in nature, something one of my family members or cats does… A story told to my by a friend, other stories and novels. Everything.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I start writing where the idea takes me and when I get stuck, I start drafting out an outline. I then write freely again, having a glance at the outline when I start to become stuck.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I will generally do one of two things with writer’s block. I will either push myself through it and have word wars or put my headphones in and ignore the world until the words bleed out. The other option, get heavy into another craft until I start to crave writing again.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Stopping the ideas is difficult. I generally struggle to keep focused on one thing at a time and I will often jot some things down before getting back to what I have a deadline for.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I am published through CHBB for the most part. I market through Facebook mostly and am a very excited person most of the time so I find it easy to get people excited about my work.

  1. How much research do you do?

It really depends on the story. Some things I am making up entirely so research is completely unimportant. Other stories have at least a little grounding in reality. I have researched everything from various weaponry and how to use it (including using YouTube to watch people using said weapons) to different kinds of leaves that can be used for teas in North American climate. You never know what small detail can be looked up, so I find it better to try to make as little as possible available for people to disprove. In Trapped, for example, I researched chemical compositions even though it was to be laced with magic anyway.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I use a computer. I was born with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, which makes writing longhand a bit of a nightmare now.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

I have so many that I couldn’t even hope to list them all. Most of them are mentioned in the question about which authors inspire me.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

In fact I am. I’m currently reading Don’t Drink the Nine, by PM Briede. It’s excellent, and the sequel to Death of a Chorus Girl. Because of deadlines I haven’t gotten to read it as fast as I would like.  But I will leave a review. I always do ^-^

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorjordannefuller

Amazon Author Page: Fuller/e/B00ZEABPHI/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_10

Book Links:

Love Sucks

http://smarturl.it/LoveSucks (Love Sucks Anthology e-book)

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Sucks-Mariana-Thorn/dp/1514365081/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1434727970&sr=8-2&keywords=Love+Sucks+Anthology&pebp=1434727975525&perid=110TR0CB6NPB9N2C06MX (Love Sucks Anthology paperback)

 

Twisted Tales

http://hyperurl.co/TwistedTales (E-book)

http://www.amazon.com/Twisted-Tales-Paranormal-Phoenix-Johnson/dp/1514359677/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1435340486&sr=8-1&keywords=Twisted+Tales%3A+A+Paranormal+Anthology (Paperback)

 

Mystical Bites

http://smarturl.it/MysticalBites (E-book)

http://www.amazon.com/Mystical-Bites-Anthology-Lexi-Ostrow/dp/1516896459/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1439581202&sr=1-2&keywords=mystical+bites&tag=smarturl-20 (Paperback)

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14008244.Jordanne_Fuller

Leave a Reply

