Interview with Author Kyra Dune

Many thanks to Kyra Dune for taking the time to do this author interview!

  1. What genre are your books?

Fantasy. I write YA, NA, and adult in a variety of subgenres.

  1. What draws you to this genre?

I’ve loved to read fantasy books for as long as I can remember, so I guess it’s only natural that’s what I write.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

Right now I have six projects in the works.

What The Heart Wants (A Dual Realm Novel): NA Paranormal Romance

Godstone (Godstone Chronicles): Pirate Fantasy

Eye Of The Storm: High Fantasy

Cataclysm (Prophecy Of The Cataclysm #3): Epic Fantasy

Inferno (Dragon Within #5): YA Urban Fantasy

Untitled Dual Real Novel: NA Paranormal Romance

  1. What’s it about?

What The Heart Wants and the Untitled Dual Realm Novel, are both about the Dual Realm, which is our own world and the world connected to it. In the novels, I describe them as being like the flip sides of a coin, connected yet separate.

Godstone is the story of a mythical stone with the ability to grant godhood to whomever possesses it.

Eye Of The Storm is about two people with telekinetic powers.

Cataclysm is the final installment in a trilogy about a young woman who is destined to destroy the world.

Inferno is the final installment in a series about a teenage girl who discovers the truth about dragons and has her whole world turned upside down.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

What The Heart Wants: Patrick can discharge lightning from his fingertips.

Godstone: This story is told from multiple viewpoints, so it’s hard to pin down a main character. But I do have a couple of warriors, some pirates, and an evil Emperor.

Eye Of The Storm: Both Gellen and Marisa have the ability to move objects with their minds.

Cataclysm: Again, a multi-viewpoint novel. I have a mad god, some higher powers, an assassin, some mercenaries, a nobleman, and an archangel.

Inferno: Abigail has power over the four elements.

Untitled Dual Real Novel: Amberstone is a shapeshifter with mind control abilities.

  1. Have you written anything else?

I have written 27 fantasy novels.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Mostly, I just want to write lots of books that people like to read. Although, I wouldn’t say no to a movie contract.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Stephen King. Margaret Weis. Tracy Hickman. J.K. Rowling. Suzanne Collins. I’d say those are my top influences.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I started writing when I was nine years old. I write because I have too. Otherwise the voices in my head would drive me insane. Ha Ha. In truth, though, I write because I love it. It’s my single greatest passion.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I write pretty much all day long at my desk in my room.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

Everywhere. Nowhere. That’s always the hardest question for me to answer, because most of the time I honestly don’t know.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’m a total pantser. I just sit down and write whatever falls out of my head. Makes for a messy first draft, but it’s the only method that works for me.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I used to, but I solved that problem by always having multiple projects going. Keeps the creative juices flowing.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Not listening to that little voice of self doubt that’s always trying to tell me I’m not good enough, that nobody will want to read what I’m writing, that I’m wasting my time. No matter how many books I’ve written or how much praise I’ve gotten, that voice is still there. It’s the single greatest hurdle I have to get over.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Ah, marketing. I hate marketing. I’m sure I’m not the only one. It’s so hard to know what to do, what’s going to work. You just have to try anything and everything you can think of. If there’s even the slightest chance something will get word of your book in front of new eyes, you have to jump at it.

  1. How much research do you do?

Not much. It depends on the book.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

Computer

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Firestarter by Stephen King. The Chronicles Trilogy by Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling, The Como Chronicles by Kate O’Leary. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Monochrome by H.M. Jones. I could go on and on, but I’ll just add that Stephen King has been my number one favorite writer since I was twelve and stop there.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

Right now I am reading Castaways Of The Flying Dutchman by Brian Jacques.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://kyradune.weebly.com/
Blog: http://theshadowportal.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Kyra-Dune-136273741952/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KyraDune
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kyradune/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Kyra-Dune/e/B00A5WOHGQ/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1437859997&sr=8-1
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5350164.Kyra_Dune

Leave a Reply

