Author Interview with R. Judas Brown

Please welcome Author R. Judas Brown!

  1. What genre are your books? My writing is speculative fiction, which is pretty broad.  I have books in progress that fall into the fantasy and horror genres.  My short stories range all over; Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Horror, and all the darker hues thereof.

    R Judas Brown
    Copyright © R. Judas Brown
  2. What draws you to this genre? The ability to look at emotions and situations and explore them using elements of the fantastic.
  3. What project are you working on at the moment? That is a big question.  I have a solo horror novel.  I have fantasy books going in a couple of shared world settings, I tend to stay busy and mildly confused.
  4. What’s it about? The horror book is a father trying to save his daughter, and the lengths he has to go to.  The problem is that she is fading quickly due to some pretty twisted magic that I think will grab the attention of booklovers, and there is not a good, guaranteed way to save her, only subjecting himself to the same curse. One of the fantasy books, which picks up where the story in this anthology, Bitter Words, leaves off, follows the progress of Asharan, Yarsinia, and Marco as they use their freedom to make their way through the Skoryan deserts.
  5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?  I think of him as a stand-in for self-doubt.  We get to take it out of ourselves, let it run around, and hopefully see that there is worth there we don’t tend to give ourselves credit for.
  6. Have you written anything else? I have stories in several small press anthologies.
  7. What are your ambitions for your writing career? I am chasing the dream that everyone is.  I would like to write for a living.  Failing that, I would like to help others get there.  I have been fortunate to meet and work with some very supportive and collaborative authors, editors, and publishers.  I would really like to pay that back.
  8. Which writers inspire you? Rothfuss is awesome. His writing inspires me.  Chuck Wendig the author inspires me, his blogs talk to the angry alcoholic in my soul.  Mark Lawrence is an all-around cool guy that inspires on a personal and professional level.  Personally, C. E. Robertson has to be mentioned.   Aside spinning a good tale, she is a delightful friend and is the one who convinced me to pick up the pen on this whole “being a writer” notion I had given up on.
  9. When did you decide to become a writer? That is an interesting question.  I wanted to be a writer since I was a kid.  I really don’t think I can say I decided, consciously said this is what I am now, until recently, and I don’t know when the specific point was.  I just needed to keep writing once I started, and somewhere along the way I stopped thinking of myself as someone who writes and became a writer.

9a. Why do you write?  To stay sane.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write? Not in general.  A few of us get together most Sundays at the local Panera. Otherwise, it is dictated by deadlines or my need to work something out.
  2. Where do you get your inspiration? Everywhere. The horror book idea came to me a a Junior High poetry presentation.  Dr. Seuss has inspired vampire erotica.  Something gets knocked lose upstairs and bumps around until it has to come out.
  3. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you? The longer the work, the more structure I need.  I never go into a full, detailed outline, though, because I want room for it to be organic.
  4. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it? Yes.  There is no single answer.  You try things until they work.  Music, booze, changing your space, free writing.  Each of these has worked at one point or another, and failed at one point or another.
  5. What is the hardest thing for you about writing? Having faith in my abilities.
  6. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?  Right now I haven’t had to go it alone marketing a book.  I pay very close attention to what small press publishers are doing when I have worked with them.  I try to support their efforts with my own social media presence and I try to take notes should I decide to self-pub a book in the future.
  7. How much research do you do? It depends on what is needed for the story.  I have spent days looking through historical saw-mills.  I have also slammed out a story in an afternoon because in knew it flesh to bones.
  8. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand? Computer.  I have played some with its handwriting recognition, and may do so more.
  9. What are some of your favorite books/authors? C. E. Robertson, Pat Rothfuss, Elizabeth Moon and David Weber are probably my favorite prose authors.  For poetry I am fond of Streya Colchester and C. E. Robertson, though I do not rad as much poetry as I probably should. There are too many books to mention, so let me just say the most recent addition: Lost Stars by Claudia Gray. It is one of the newer Star Wars canon books and it just twisted daggers in me.
  10. Are you currently reading any books? I am currently beta-reading quite a bit.  Right now I am reading an upcoming book by Michalea Moore.
  11. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://www.rjudasbrown.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RJudasBrown/
Twitter: @RJudasBrown

3 thoughts on “Author Interview with R. Judas Brown

  1. robitille

    Great interview – I agree, David Weber’s a good one, as is his co-author (well, on several books I’ve enjoyed) Eric Flint – and Wendig definitely appeals to the, ‘hey you kids, get off my lawn!’ feeling.

Leave a Reply

