Author Interview with Angel Blackwood

Please welcome professional author and editor Angel Blackwood!

  1. What genre are your books?

My books all fall somewhere in the fantasy genre.

Angel Blackwood
Copyright © Angel Blackwood
  1. What draws you to this genre?

I like being able to invent my own races, societies, and cultures. I also really enjoy making up magic systems. I feel I can be freer with my plots in a fantasy setting.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

At the moment, I’m working on book two of my Obsidian Embers Trilogy.

  1. What’s it about?

It’s a continuation of the struggle between the women with magic in charge and the rebellion of men who have been tortured and experimented on and women who have defected. A war is brewing, anyone could be a traitor, and death is always right around the corner.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

It’s a hard question to answer when you have four of them. Truth be told, my heroes are no more special than anyone else, they’re just standing up for freedom and equality when others won’t.

  1. Have you written anything else?

I’ve written one book in a completely separate series involving a lot more fantasy creatures and magic. I’ve also written several short stories that have been published in anthologies. All of those have differing subject matter.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Honestly, I’d love to be as big as some of my favorite authors and inspirations. But I’m just happy for people to read my books.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, and R.A. Salvatore are the three who influence me the most.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I first wanted to write when I was nine. I didn’t try to get serious with it until I was thirteen and a friend suggested writing as a way to help cope with my depression. Now I write because the day feels wrong if I don’t write, and of course it still helps with depression and stress.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

No. I write when I can. I have children so I just make time when I can make it.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

My imagination mostly. Sometimes I hear a song or read about something in history that is particularly inspiring though.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I rarely outline beyond knowing how the book might end and maybe one or two middle pieces. I love letting the story develop organically.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

If I get to where it’s hard to write in my novel, I find I’m going about writing the scene the wrong way or I need to take a break and write something completely different. I don’t believe in writer’s block of the sort that stops you from writing altogether.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

The hardest thing for me about writing is finding the time to do it when my daughter is up and about.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Right now, I market the anthologies on my facebook author page and on some promotional sites as well as through word of mouth. I’ll develop a stronger plan with my agent and whatever publishing house we end up signing with in the future for my novel.

  1. How much research do you do?

I do a huge amount of research on things people probably don’t think need to be researched. My world is invented and it has magic, but I still want the mundane things to be accurate.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I write on my laptop.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

I don’t have a lot of specific books as favorites, more series than anything. I love the Drizzt series from R.A. Salvatore, the First Law Trilogy (and all his stand alone books too) from Joe Abercrombie, Magical Kingdom for Sale series by Terry Brooks, and the Lightbringer Series from Brent Weeks. The few individual books I could read over and over are The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly, The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, and any single book by Neil Gaiman.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

Right now I’m reading Night of the Hunter by R.A. Salvatore.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/angelblackwood13
Twitter: @angelblackwood1
Pinterest: dantea13
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00SARZLFY

3 thoughts on “Author Interview with Angel Blackwood

  1. robitille

    Good interview! I also enjoyed Terry Brooks’ Magic Kingdom for Sale series and pretty much anything Neil Gaiman has written. 🙂

Leave a Reply

