Author Interview with Daniel Eastman

Please welcome Daniel Eastman!

1. What genre are your books? Most are Fantasy, although I dabble in Science Fiction too

2. What draws you to this genre? The broad scope and potential to tell a variety of stories; to create new worlds with depth and detail.

Author Photo- Daniel Eastman
Copyright © Daniel Eastman

3. What project are you working on at the moment? I have several projects in the works, but the one I’m working on most is the Raven Queen Series Michelle (my wife) and I are writing together.

4. What’s it about? It’s about a Princess that’s been blinded and the Mage that’s promised to protect her as they reclaim and regain her rightful place as Queen.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special? For her, it’s the struggle to not only adjust to a new condition and feel worthy of the devotion others are showing her but to reclaim her throne. For him, it’s discovering not just who he is and what he can do; but why he is important to her and others.

6. Have you written anything else? I’ve had some poetry published in the past, over a decade ago. But, for the most part no. I’m finally venturing out of my shell with this short story.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career? I have a cookbook I’m working on, there’s the world in which the short story was written…working on editing much of what we have there now, but that story has a long way to go. And there’s the Raven Queen series. I want to finally get my writing out there in the world to be enjoyed as much as I’ve enjoyed it. I’d love for it to be able to support my family too.

8. Which writers inspire you? This is a fairly large list if I put them all down. But, in no particular order: Tolkien, Sanderson, Asimov, Dostoyevsky, Heinlein, C.S. Lewis, Mercedes Lackey are just a few.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write? I started writing in second grade, but it was always either a school project or something I did after telling myself a story while doing chores. Writing helps keep my very active mind busy and helps me make sense of my day, failing that it has come to help me relax at days end, sorting my thoughts even if unrelated to what I’m writing.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write? I’m hunting down that special place, at the moment of writing this I’m on my last week in a hotel hunting for an apartment still. As for time, anytime after dinner. I’m definitely a Night Owl, I’ve watched the night spin outside my window into daybreak more than once.

11. Where do you get your inspiration? My wife and I work together often on projects and I like to think we inspire each other. Sometimes we find an image, some artwork, and use it as a jumping off point to base a tale on or around. Of course all that I’ve read has had an enormous impact on where that leads; but when it comes down to it I really don’t know what sparks an idea into existence.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you? I actually do a bit of both. I have some extremely basic points I want to cover and reach, but like an Orienteering challenge there’s always a variety of ways to get to each one.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it? Yes, I do get it, but not generally the way it’s thought of. Instead of typically sitting to an empty screen or perusing the internet. It turns into working on a different story than I intended. On the other hand, stress is my biggest enemy…usually simply writing helps, or the text-based RP between Michelle and I on which a lot of our writing is based on.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing? Right now it’s finding a safe place to do it. After that it’s a confidence thing. I returned from a mission for my church to discover EVERY thing I’d written before that had been thrown out. For the longest time I stopped writing, stopped doing everything I enjoyed but cooking (which by the way is another way I relieve stress…if I’ve a decent kitchen it pays to be my neighbor)…it took a few years before I started again.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route? This is something new. I’ve never gone this route, or any route.

16. How much research do you do? Stay off my browser… I’ve devoured entire public libraries. Seriously, I embrace a logical reality to even the most fantastical setting and adding detail to a world. If you can close your eyes and imagine yourself there, from the smell, taste, and other senses and then know where you can go and how to live day to day as if you just left the country then I succeeded in what I hoped for.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand? I used to do longhand only with some dictation. I just couldn’t type. When I started writing again it was after learning to do text-based RP in AOL chatrooms. After that the only time I pick up a pen is to take notes.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors? Well, I mentioned authors already…but favorite books of fiction: Roverandum, The Little Prince, Stranger in a Strange Land, Chronicles of Narnia, Silmarillian, Heart of Darkness, War & Peace, Shogun, Elantris and many many others.

19. Are you currently reading any books? Sadly no, I’ve been working on the Dresden Novels though.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/d3astmanwriting/

 

 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Daniel Eastman

Leave a Reply

