Author Interview with Layne Calry

Please join me in welcoming Author Layne Calry!

  1. What genre are your books?

Fantasy, with romance undertones

  1. What draws you to this genre?

I have always loved imagination. I think it’s amazing and the worlds and characters you can build in fantasy. It just floors me every time.

EBOOK_BETRAYALS_150DPI
Copyright © J.E. Feldman’s Fantasy Writers Group
  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

I always have numerous WIP’s because I can’t focus on one. However, at the moment I am working the most on my Song of Saeran Series.

  1. What’s it about?

It’s a fantasy about a young boy who is thrust into a position and role he had not imagined for himself. He learns secrets about himself and others, and he will go on a journey to end the tyranny that runs rampant throughout his land.

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Saeran is not special at first. At first he is privileged and slightly immature. As he grows, though, his care for others encompasses everything else. He shows great strength, mentally, emotionally, physically, and magically. Those that are helping him and even those that aren’t, they are drawn to that about him. They want to help him, show that they too can show kindness and compassion for others.

  1. Have you written anything else?

I have written many things, though at the moment nothing is published.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I would love to have my current series as well as a few others I have started, and even some novels I have finished, to be traditionally published. To just have my name in black and white and on paper, it’s just a dream I never thought was even possible to dream about.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

There are so many, honestly, it’s so hard. J.K Rowling definitely. Just her entire story is amazing. How she managed to bring herself up from poverty, as a single mom with an idea she wrote on napkins, I just love it. It is truly awe inspiring. And another one would honestly have to be Stephen King. The funny thing about Stephen King, I haven’t even read many of his books. However, him as just a person and the advice he gives, and the way he sticks to his ideals and just he is an amazing person and author.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I have always written. I really started when I was about twelve or thirteen. I was so angry and depressed and so many things, and I needed an outlet. I found poetry first, and I loved it, and then I found short stories (I’m still not very good at those J) and then in about 2013 I was super depressed, I was trying to get through so many things. I had two small children, and I was just so lost. So I decided that maybe if I could focus on one thing instead of the stressful things that were around me in my own life, maybe I could get better for myself, my children and my husband. So I tried to do NanoWrimo, and that was the first year I actually wrote a full-length novel. I realized then that I can do this, I can be this writer, this author. And I haven’t looked back.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I honestly don’t, I just write when an idea comes to me, even if it’s on a napkin or receipt paper, though I usually try and carry a notebook with me. I also tend to write more late at night.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

Everywhere around me, although the Song of Saeran series, honestly it started as an idea when I heard my four-year-old and my three-year-old playing together, and it just opened up so many potential things.

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I prefer to see where the idea takes me. I do take extensive notes that I keep open when I write. It’s a hard list of plot lines, world building, my characters and so forth. However, I also am trying to write an idea into a book for a friend of mine, and I do use an outline for his. Mostly because he gave me all the ideas I just have to form them into the story.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

Oh my gosh, do I ever. Sometimes I can go days, even weeks, with writing nothing. What I try to do is continue to write, even if it’s on the rpg Wolf I’m a part of, or just lists of things, or character sheets. I also tend to refocus if I can. I will watch movies, listen to music, color (I love to color, it’s a guilty pleasure.)

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Grammar and Sharing. I hate to share my work because I get it in my head that the person I am sharing with will hate it or tell me to just stop writing, that I’m terrible. And my grammar is atrocious. I’m surprised my editor hasn’t run for the hills yet.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I have not had anything published as of yet. However, when I do get published, I will be using all that I can. I will be using twitter, and Facebook, and I will then start an author page and use Amazon platform if my book is on their database. I also plan to do a lot of word of mouth. I live in a very rural town so anything I tell one person, it’s going to get around.

  1. How much research do you do?

It depends on what I am writing about. I collect and covet knowledge so some things that I may write about I already know about. However, if I don’t know something, I do as much research as I need to properly write about what I am wanting to write about. For instance, the Song of Saeran series I took three days and did nothing but research about swordplay and medieval battles and night time battles.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I would love to find a typewriter, but at the moment I write on the computer and longhand. Usually when I write longhand I then transcribe it into the computer.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

There are so many, let me think. Of course the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling, I love The Watcher in the Mist by Norma Johnston, The Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan. I also enjoy The King Killer Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss, and I absolutely love the Redwall Series by Brian Jacques

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

I am beta reading a few books for a couple different authors, and I also plan to reread the Harry Potter series to my boys. We also read bits of the Redwall series at night.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

I am on both Twitter and Facebook, and I will add more platforms as I grow.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/laynecalry/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/layne_calry

3 thoughts on “Author Interview with Layne Calry

Leave a Reply

