Author Interview with Gary Lee Webb

Please welcome Author Gary Lee Webb!

  1. What genre are your books? Currently zero books completed, but putatively the first will be high fantasy and the second an alternate history centered around AD 1100. My published short stories are 80% fantasy; the rest are science fiction and alternate history. I have also published non-fiction articles on a variety of subjects (three-quarters of my publications are non-fiction).

    GaryAwardsBanquetCrop
    Copyright © Gary Lee Webb
  2. What draws you to this genre? I have been a fan since I was a teenager.
  3. What project are you working on at the moment? 65,000 words into my first novel.
  4. What’s it about?   Originally I intended to start with the character becoming an adult the hard way, with the death of his father and how he deals with it. But I have found I’d rather write the earlier parts of his life. Thus it has become something of a Gebildungsroman (a growing up and education novel). I have been following the life of my main character from the earliest days, through his youth in poverty, past his father’s death, into coping, new experiences, and increasing success and self-assurance. Eventually, I hope to follow him through romance and adulthood. Along the way, he has acquired companions and enemies – such is life.
  5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special? He is highly educated by his single-parent father, albeit informally and despite poverty. Lack of resources does not stop him: he is very good at coming up with creative solutions with whatever is at hand.
  6. Have you written anything else?   Several other stories: historical fiction, time travel, science fiction in the near future, other fantasy. Lots of non-fiction.
  7. What are your ambitions for your writing career? Three published novels prior to retiring; many more afterwards. I am not expecting to support myself with writing, just supplement the retirement.
  8. Which writers inspire you? L. Tolstoy, J.R.R. Tolkien, U.K. Le Guin, M. Wells, L. Niven
  9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write? 2012. I am a long-time SF/F fan, part of many convention committees, but I never thought I could be an author. I have been a storyteller for a long time. In 2012 someone convinced me after a verbal presentation that I could be published, I submitted and “A Dish Served Cold” was published four months later. “Varg of Two Rings” will be my sixteenth publication. I wish to get much better, and I have been working hard on it, attending authors’ workshops both locally and at WorldCons.
  10. Do you have a special time or place to write? Not really. Solitude helps. So does music (e.g., Celtic, Jazz).
  11. Where do you get your inspiration?   Life, books, gaming, science, history. I have a number of friends and acquaintances who are pushing the limits of technology and science. I have worked on a couple myself, including the NOAO Large Imager (the world’s largest astronomical camera in 1996) and SOFIA (a German / USA airborne astronomical observatory).
  12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you? I tend to do a rough outline (often only mental), then follow the story.
  13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it? I work on something else.
  14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing? Finding good challenges for my main character; he is brighter than I am.
  15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?   Not Yet Applicable.
  16. How much research do you do?   I love to do research, and I love to share what I learn. I am an avid astronomy fan and have a masters in mathematics, with a love of history and linguistics.
  17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand? Usually computer.
  18. What are some of your favorite books/authors? Martha Wells – her Raksura novels. Larry Niven – the Known Space novels. Lois Bujold. Mercedes Lackey. Stanislaw Lem.
  19. Are you currently reading any books? Many
  20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?   Find me at a conference or on Facebook. I am active in Toastmasters International and in the National Storytelling Network. I love the Renaissance Faires; I go to science fiction and fantasy conventions (10 world conventions, many local); I have assisted at cultural and education events.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Gary Lee Webb

Leave a Reply

