Author Interview with Adele Marie Park

Please welcome Author Adele Marie Park!

  1. What genre are your books?
    I cross genres, writing mainly fantasy, urban fantasy and also love to write horror.
  2. What draws you to this genre?
    I love creating worlds and characters then pitting them against dangers which are not encountered within our everyday realms.
  3. What project are you working on at the moment? P105064009
    I work on several projects at once but currently I am writing the second book of the Edra chronicles. I am also editing the second book of the Suleskerry series.
    It is a fantasy tale set in the fictional world of Edra centralising around the themes of love, betrayal and ancient evil.
  4. Give us an insight into your main character.
    My main character has recently come into his magical heritage, he acts as a catalyst which brings out the deeper magic in others.
  5. Have you written anything else?
    I have written several short stories and a number of novels.
  6. What are your ambitions for your writing career?
    To bring as many readers as possible pleasure when they read my writing. To make them feel like they have escaped into a magical world and left their troubles behind them at least for a little while.
  7. Which writers inspire you?
    Stephen King. Anne Rice. James Herbert. Storm Constantine. David Baldacci. Tolkien. Robin Hobb.
  8. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?
    I was about six or seven and used to create my own worlds where dragons, faeries and selkies lived. I write because to tell a tale which will be remembered and bring peace of happiness to people is my passion.
  9. Do you have a special time or place to write?
    I write in the kitchen with lots of coffee and cigarettes. The time varies because life takes place.
  10. Where do you get your inspiration?
    From watching people in real life, their conversations and actions and I always wonder how they would act in a fantasy or horror setting. Also ancient folk tales are a wealth of inspiration to me.
  11. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?
    I used to let the idea take me but with experience I now like to write an outline first.
  12. Do you ever get writer’s block?
    I don’t get it very often and I think the reason for this is, if I get stuck, there is always another project I can work on until I feel the time is right to go back to the original.
  13. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?
    When the novel or the story comes to an end, the emptiness after is almost like grief.
  14. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?
    I plan to self publish. I have tried the more traditional route of approaching agents and publishing houses but I found the more I read about self publishing the more it appealed to me. I love the idea of marketing our own product. It’s also bout having control over your own writing.
  15. How much research do you do?
    Research can vary according to what novel I am working on but I love to research and can be found scribbling away furiously in notebook after notebook.
  16. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?
    I like to write longhand then type it up on my lap top.
  17. What are some of your favourite books/authors?
    Storm Constantine – Stalking Tender Prey.
    Stephen King – The Tommy Knockers.
    Anne Rice – The Vampire Armand.
    Marion Zimmer Bradley – The Mist of Avalon.
    Raymond E. Fiest – Magician.
  18. Are you currently reading any books?
    Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.
    The Finisher by David Baldacci. Crossing Bedlam by Charles E. Yallowitz.
  19. How can readers discover more about your work?
    Blog – firefly465.wordpress.com
    Twitter – twitter.com/Binky567
    Pinterest – uk.pinterest.com/firefly_/
    Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/firefly.fly.14
2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Adele Marie Park

  1. Pingback: Fantasy Tales of Betrayal | firefly465

Leave a Reply

