Author Interview with Kyle Della-Rocco

Please welcome Author Kyle Della-Rocco!

  1. What genre are your books? Urban fantasy, for the most part. At least, that is what they will be when I publish any books.
  2. What draws you to this genre? I love to think of ways that our world would interact with the fantasy world if they both collided.
  3. What project are you working on at the moment? Way of the Gods will, hopefully, be a trilogy of books about a normal person being thrust into the world of magic, of god’s and having his whole perspective on life turned upside down.10275523_10206748767096543_1675369853676039776_o
  4. What’s it about? See above. Also, though, it is what I think the gods would do if they ever came back. The old gods all had human like characteristics, they had thoughts and feelings same as we do and thus are easier to connect with. It’s a story about their reintroduction into modern society, their frustration at how things have turned out and how they want to rule over us because they think they could do a much better job than we are doing.
  5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special? My main character at first is an ordinary person. Jeddah Williams is a bookstore clerk, madly in love with his fiancée when his world is made chaotic from the choices his family made in the past and the events that begin to unfold. He has a special connection with Odin, and his all seeing eye, so he gains some prophetic abilities throughout the beginning of the first book in the series. He has trouble controlling what he sees, but he begins to gain a better grasp on his powers as the story progresses.
  6. Have you written anything else? Mostly short stories, about other characters with magical abilities.
  7. What are your ambitions for your writing career? I’m a simple person, and I don’t have many ambitions. I would be happy if just one of my books got published, and that people enjoyed the tales I have written down. I don’t need millions of people reading my stories, but if that happened I would be extremely happy as would any author I’m sure.
  8. Which writers inspire you? Butcher, Bishop, Tolkein and Salvatore are just a few of the many authors of books that I have enjoyed reading.
  9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write? I write for the same reason I think everyone decides to write. I try to pour myself, the feelings I have stored deep down and to share them with the world, albeit in a creative manner.
  10. Do you have a special time or place to write? I love to read at night, when the world is a little quieter and things have settled down.
  11. Where do you get your inspiration? Dungeons and Dragons has given me much of my inspiration, as have many of the games that I have played with the pen and paper system.
  12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you? If I get stuck, I sometimes will write out a rough outline of what I think could happen. Otherwise, I feel like my fingers are writing the book themselves.
  13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it? Usually I like to read when I can’t think of what to write. Seeing what other people have penned down often gives me inspiration and leads me to new ideas.
  14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing? Editing your writing afterwards can feel tedious, but it’s a necessary process to allow others to understand what you’ve written.
  15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route? I’ve only ever used Facebook to market myself, but as I understand it, many other social media sites exist to advertise yourself as an author.
  16. How much research do you do? As much as I need. I do research when I come to an idea that I have no clue how it would work.
  17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand? I often fantasize myself sitting at an oak wood desk, tapping away at the keys of a typewriter. However, I use whatever gadget is on hand when inspiration kicks in, either my computer or my tablet.
  18. What are some of your favorite books/authors? I love the Dresden files series because he makes it feel like magic doesn’t come easily. The main character, Harry Dresden, barely scrapes by getting his rent together or affording decent food. Every step of the way, you can feel his struggle, and I admire him greatly for that struggle.
  19. Are you currently reading any books? Jim Butcher’s series, Codex Alera: The Furies of Calderon is what I am reading at the moment.
  20. How can readers discover more about you and your work? Facebook is the best way to find me, as I don’t advertise on any other platforms at the moment. I plan to set up a twitter account as well when I gain more popularity.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Convocare/

Leave a Reply

