Author Interview with Melissa Robitille

Introducing an author of “Forbidden Rites.”

  1. What genre are your books?

I write speculative fiction, which includes fantasy, science fiction, horror, paranormal romance, urban fantasy, and other stories based on ‘what if?’

  1. What draws you to this genre?

    Me_02_14_01
    Copyright © Melissa Robitille

I enjoy imagining entirely different worlds where anything can happen.

  1. What project are you working on at the moment?

I always have several projects going at a time, but my major project is a paranormal romance which is a crossover novella between my Murphy’s Law series and Liz Crowe’s Love Brothers series for a holiday boxed set with Ms. Crowe and a group of other authors.

  1. What’s it about?

Detective Andrew Munroe leaves Mill City with a broken heart and a tarnished record and moves to Lucasville, KY. There he meets Tricia Shelton in unfortunate circumstances – her ex is stalking her, and she needs protection. A little bit of magic can save the day, but can she accept that kind of help – or him?

  1. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

Andy is a very good detective, but he’s also got what he thinks of as extremely low-power magic, just a little bit of find-it dowsing. While that’s nothing special in Mill City, out in Lucasville it’s the only magic going.

  1. Have you written anything else?

Yes. I’ve ghostwritten over a dozen books, published fourteen under pen names, and under my own name In One Year’s Time and Blackstone Gate, both paranormal romances, my urban fantasy / alt history story “Dragon’s Eggs Benedict” appears in Fantasy Writers 2016 Anthology: Betrayals of Another Kind, my paranormal romance novelette “Wolf at the Door” appears in Love Potion #9, and my horror short story “After the Clowns” will be appearing in Fat Lip Press’s Black Candy, set to release on Halloween this year.

  1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Every writer wants recognition and I’m no different, but my goals for now are to write and publish more stories and books under my own name.

  1. Which writers inspire you?

All kinds of authors inspire me, really. JRR Tolkien, Tad Williams, David Eddings, Lois McMaster Bujold, Eric Flint, David Weber, Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Orson Scott Card, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Terry Brooks, Terry Pratchett, Piers Anthony, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, Laurell K Hamilton, Anne Rice, Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Moon, CJ Cherryh, Ernest Hemmingway, Mark Twain, Mary Shelley, Jules Verne, Orson Wells, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle… It’s a list that’s almost inexhaustible.

  1. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I started writing when I was 7 – I rather drastically changed the ending to my book report on Danny and the Dinosaur. I decided to be a writer when I was 20 and my husband read one of my story fragments and insisted that I finish the rest of the story so he could read it.

  1. Do you have a special time or place to write?

A special time? Honestly, not really. I’m something of a workaholic, and I’ll put in weeks of 18 to 20 hour days. A special place? Definitely. I have an office and an antique roll top desk.

  1. Where do you get your inspiration?

I get most of my inspiration from dreams and from stories piecing themselves together bit by bit over months or years on the ‘backburner.’

  1. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’d have to say a little bit of both. I put together a basic framework of the biggest plot points, but if I do more than that it feels like I’ve already written the story and then I can’t write it because I’m bored with it.

  1. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

Not really. There are times a specific project isn’t cooperating with me, so I’ll write on another project. I can’t think of a time when I couldn’t kick start my writing by doing that or writing on a random writing prompt.

  1. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

While I’ve learned a lot about marketing this year, I still think that it’s not my strongest suit.

  1. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I promote my books with my own newsletter, Facebook boosted posts, Facebook promotional groups, Twitter, Pinterest, book review blogs, Facebook parties with games and prizes, newsletter advertisement, backlist cross-promotion with new releases, and cooperative promotion with other authors on their Facebook pages and in their newsletters.

  1. How much research do you do?

Exhaustive! For my The Arcane Line series, which is urban fantasy / alt. history, I do a great deal of research – you can’t bend history without knowing what happened in the first place. For my Murphy’s Law series, which is (I’ve only recently coined the term) paranormal noir, I research things that I worry will have the FBI knocking on my door – poisons, murder methods, crime in general, laws, and law enforcement. For my Smuggler at Large series I research bleeding edge technology and extrapolate how that might advance.

  1. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I write on my computer, but if I’m not at home I’ll write on anything at all – I actually have most of a story plotted out on a pizza box.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Another long list! Easier to name series, really. Lord of the Rings, The Belgariad, The Mallorean, Memory, Sorrow & Thorn, Xanth, Discworld, Foundation, Vorkosigan Saga, Liaden Universe, Pern, Long Earth… oh it goes on, and on, and on.

  1. Are you currently reading any books?

I’m reading two right now. Phil Hore’s marvelous paranormal noir, The Order of THE DRAGON, and Liz Crowe’s gritty contemporary romance, Coach Love.

  1. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: http://www.robitille.com

Blog: http://robitille.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Melissa-Robitille-203203153102649

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mahrial

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/melissarobitille

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/robitille/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Melissa-A.-Robitille/e/B00A3AZW9Q/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_4

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/mahrial

 

One thought on “Author Interview with Melissa Robitille

Leave a Reply

