Author Interview with Laurie Bis

Introducing an author of “Forbidden Rites.”

1. What genre are your books?

Mainly I find myself writing science fiction and fantasy with dark humor

2. What draws you to this genre?

laurie
Copyright © Laurie Bis

I always enjoyed driving teachers and adults crazy asking “what if?”

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

I’m in the process of creating a space empire with cybertronic vampires

4. What’s it about?

The struggle of a species to survive and the lengths that they will go for a new start

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

One of my main characters is a scientist who secretly teams with a group of vampires

6. Have you written anything else?

We have notebooks strewn all over the house with scribblings of my different ideas on them.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’d like to complete my space vampire series and see it transformed into movies.

8. Which writers inspire you?

Anne McCaffrey, Sir Terry Prachett, E.A Poe

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

Paper is a very sympathetic listener – it never interrupts but will occasionally mock you if you ignore it too long.

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I try to write in the dead of night – the house is finally quietish, every creak and sound you hear takes on a whole new meaning.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

Reading other authors or sometimes just letting my mind drift the strangest thoughts can occur.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I try to write an outline to force my brain to acknowledge the the goal, but find that the characters don’t always do what you expect.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

Loss of ideas, no – but occasional when my fingers touch the keyboard my brain decides it’s time to play hide and seek with the words that were just there.

I’ve thought seriously of just glueing the suckers there until they behave, but an entire story of asfjkl; variations would be difficult at best

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Butt glue – I had been using a cheap generic brand that just doesn’t keep my butt in the seat long enough to be productive.

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

I’ll be focusing in digital media and word of mouth.  People like to talk and share information.

16. How much research do you do?

I try to write the story first and then focus on the research aspect after.  I find that if I do it the opposite way I distract myself from the goal and spends hours researching the genetic code of a waterbear.

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I use a combination of laptop, speech to text and longhand.

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Terry Pratchett with his Discworld series and Robert Aspirin – loved his various book series

19. Are you currently reading any books?

I’ve currently got  five books that I am in the process of reading.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Twitter: @BisLaurie

Pinterest: Xiante

 

Leave a Reply

