Author Interview with Diane Drake

Introducing an author from “Forbidden Rites.”

 

1. What genre are your books?

A whole range of urban fantasy to epic fantasy.  I even have a few attempted pieces in paranormal genre of sorts.

2. What draws you to this genre?

I like the thoughts of unknown and exploring their words’ possibilities.

3. What project are you working on at the moment?

Too many to count, but my main line project is an epic fantasy series dealing with the world beyond dreams and the ways different realms could be connected.

4. What’s it about?

Each book leads the six characters to learn about themselves, their hearts, and their family; all the while they try to set the main string puller free of his despair corruption.  To do this they have to travel from realm to realm correcting the culprits’ meddling as they go.

5. Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is special?

The six main characters each represent a branch of the elemental circle and the typical personalities one might think that come with these elements.  With their combined differences they are able to compliment each other as well as be individuals.  It doesn’t hurt to be able to conjure these elements during battles either.

6. Have you written anything else?

This is my first ‘published’ work, but I do write plenty of other things that are unfinished with grand plans to eventually have them published.

7. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I would like to get all my work in progresses finished and out in the world.  I’m not in it for the profits.  I rather share a moving story that can hook others to read anything they might have passed up before.

8. Which writers inspire you?

I am more by book person, because I don’t like everything written from a single author.  But having said that, many of the books by Gary Paulson moved me to enjoy reading.  Which lead me into Mercedes Lackey (the Heralds of Valdemar series) and Anne McCarthy (Dragon Riders of Pern series) who both have a tendency to influence my writing.  Though totally off genre, Gena Showalter (Lords of the Underworld series) also helps inspire different character developments for me.

9. When did you decide to become a writer? Why do you write?

I was in eighth grade, and forced to write journals for class everyday.  Each Friday we had a chance to read one of our entries.  I remember that one of my entries got a standing ovation from my English teacher that I admired greatly.  That sparked my interest in my writing ability, but it wasn’t until the standardized tests did I decide to actually pursue it.  Out of the whole school region (across three states) I was the only one to pass the writing portion of the test with a perfect score.  That was a major confidence boost.

Which is the exact reason why I write as well.  I try my best to incorporate a strong message in all my writing with out loosing the fun aspects of storytelling.  I write to hopefully help change minds about reading, or about a situation in life, or provide a comfort so others know they aren’t alone.  Books, including fiction, can be great learning tools if given the proper thought.

 

10. Do you have a special time or place to write?

I wish, but no.  I do attempt to write everyday, but inspiration is a key factor in all my motivations.  If inspiration isn’t there, no words are coming from my finger tips.  And I’ve also learned that even though I do most of my writing at my desk, I’ll do it anywhere I have a note taking app handy or pen and paper.  Folders have become whole chapters before, and napkins an idea map.  It can get a bit out of hand when inspiration kicks in.

11. Where do you get your inspiration?

A lot of my inspiration comes from music actually.  Though its not limited to music.  I’ve had pictures, phrases, games, and even a smell has inspired me before.

12. Do you work on an outline or do you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

I’ve dabbled both routes.  And sometimes I do go back to outlining a bit, but for the most part I’m a ‘by the seat of your pants’ kind of person.  I typically start where I think the beginning is and just keep going through the story.  I see the story as sort of like a movie playing in my head.  If the fast forward button gets stuck, for what ever reason (usually inspiration and coffee combo), I jolt things down in a side notebook/worksheet in a sort of outline format to help me remember later on where my tangent was going.

13. Do you ever get writer’s block? How do you overcome it?

I don’t necessarily call it writer’s block, but I do suffer from lack of inspiration a lot.  And for very long periods of time too.  I still have yet to find a for sure routine to over come it, but I have found that just keeping my mind open to inspiration from all around me, especially daily tasks help.  I came out of a four month stint once just by giving my home a version of ‘spring cleaning’ to the max.

14. What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Over coming the doubt that what I am writing isn’t complete junk.  With why I want to write a goal to touch people, I deal with the constant fear all I’m doing is throwing out boring words to take up space.  Once that fear has crept in my inspiration usually can’t keep me writing. 

15. How do you market your books? Why did you choose this route?

Wanted to get out there, and this was the first opportunity I had.  I just started looking into getting my foot into the published door, so I am still open to many different ways.  Joining this anthology was just a window to the room of potential.

16. How much research do you do?

Depends on the type of story.  Most of the time I do research as I come across ideas.  If its something I’m interested in I typically can go weeks on a research voyage.  Other times I just look up things for confirmation I’m using them correctly (like weapons and/or vehicles).

17. Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I do a combination of longhand and computer.  But if I ever had an opportunity to use a typewriter I totally would. 

18. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

Seventh Crystal by Gary Paulson, the first book to pique my interest in fantasy world.  Nearly all books by Gena Showalter, Deb Macomber, and Mercedes Lackey.  However I typically will pick up anything at least once.

19. Are you currently reading any books?

Life doesn’t allow me to read like would like. But the times I do, I’ve been re-reading the Lord of the Underworld Series by Gena Showalter.  I like reading things I don’t write, so harlequin is my go to genre for reading.

20. How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Leave a Reply

