Author Interview with Strivion Jacobs

Introducing an author from “Forbidden Rites.”

1.                  What genre are your books?

I’m strictly a fantasy writer, and I write what’s called High Fantasy.  It’s when you make up a world from scratch; people, races, religions and so forth.

2.                  What draws you into this genre?

I suppose it’s the freedom.  I can quite literally write whatever I want without being bound to the limitations we have here in real life.

3.                  What project are you working on at the moment?

crimson-cover
Copyright © Strivion Jacobs

At the moment, I’m working on a nine-part series titled, An Anthology of Dreams.

4.                  What’s it about?

Well, in a nutshell, it follows the journey a group undergoes to uncover a conspiracy involving resurrecting the (devil essentially) and stopping a war from breaking out amongst fallen gods and long forgotten darkness. 

5.                  Give us insight into your main character.  What does he/she do that is special?

Without going too cliché, one of the main character’s life (unbeknownst to him) had been completely orchestrated by a divine force, and he is placed into the heart of every conflict that springs up.  I guess you could say that he’s always in the right place at the wrong time!

6.                  Have you written anything else?

That’s a loaded question!  I’ve written loads of stuff, and not all related to my main works!

7.                  What are your ambitions for your writing career?

My greatest wish, is that I can make a comfortable living off of my work.  I’m not talking buku-bucks, but just enough that my wife can quit her job and rely on me for a change.  She holds me up completely, and I would love to take care of her.

8.                  Which writers inspire you?

Well, obviously there’s the great writers…  But I wouldn’t say that they inspire me as much as the struggling writer.  The ones that continue to push on through it all when they can barely make ends meet, and still manage to find that they love their work.  The ones that, despite it all, never give up.  Those are the real heroes.

9.                  When did you decide to become a writer?  Why do you write?

I started by accident, actually.  I was sixteen and I kept having the most vivid dreams.  It’s very rare to have the same dream more than once, but mine seemed to have some sort of chronological order!  Eventually the dreams stopped, but I had enough to go on.  That’s why I called my series An Anthology of Dreams. And I write because it makes me happy. 

10.              Do you have a special time or place to write?

Time: At the last possible minute!  Place: Anywhere that the TV or internet ISN’T!

11.              Where do you get your inspiration?

The majority of my inspiration comes from music.  I wrote my entire first novel listening to a SINGE album.  Iced Earth:  Something Wicked This Way Comes.

12.              Do you work on an outline or do you you prefer to see where the idea takes you?

It starts off as a highly organised detail, and then I usually find that I only use about half it, if that, and take the rest based on how I’m feeling!

13.              Do you ever get writer’s block?  How do you overcome it?

I work on another project.  The best thing, I find, is to keep writing.  Even if it’s not related, it keeps your brain ticking away while you refresh yourself.  Then alternate back and forth as needed.

14.              What is the hardest thing for you about writing?

Probably killing off characters while making sure that either:  A) Their life was meaningful while it lasted.  B) Making sure their death meant something, and effects the reader or the story in a significant way.

15.              How do you market your books?  Why did you choose this route?

Well, I suppose that by marketing, you could mean present. Since I’ve been going the traditional way so far, I always thought it best to present the first third of my anthology to a literary agent all at once.  Meaning that I submit my first novel, and if they like it, I’ve already got several more written and waiting, that way they know I’m dedicated.

16.              How much research do you do?

I spent a great deal of time researching how travelling by horseback actually worked.  The amount of time medieval sea voyages would take to cover oceans, and even how people dealt with oral hygiene way back when.  If you want to make an enthralling experience, you need to get your facts all sussed out first.

17.              Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate or longhand?

I like to write my notes by hand, and then jump to my computer.

18.              What are some of your favourite books/authors?

My favourite books are probably Moorcock’s Elric series, David Eddings’ Belgaraid, and Karren Miller’s Kingmaker Kingbreaker series.

19.              Are you currently reading any books?

David Eddings’ Malloreon, the World of Warcraft lore books and I really WANT to read the Malazan Book of the Fallen series.

20.               How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website/Blog: strivionjacobs.com

Facebook: An Anthology of Dreams

 

Leave a Reply

